We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, tropical, not your typical hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dinah's Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dinah's Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Dinah's Garden Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4261 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Redlands, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Unique, tropical, not your typical hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I was in town for business. Travel dept. picked this hotel probably because of cost. This is not your typical business hotel.

NOTE: I like quiet hotels. Very important.

Grounds/Builiding: Lot's of tropical fauna, water, fountains, bridges (see pics). Super nice in that respect. Buildings are older but in good repair. The 3 story buildings in the back with the Deluxe rooms. These are 1 notch above the standard room. External stairs that are locked, often kept wide open at night.

Room: The room was nice, large, clean. Furniture is new-ish, flat panel tv, old phone. Nothing terribly bad, nor that great. Chocolates and apples on the table everyday. Bed comfortable.
*I was on the 2nd floor first night. I asked for a room on 3rd (top) floor. "Sorry we are sold out."
- I hate that reply.-

I heard the footfalls of the person above, just as I suspected. The person was probably larger than normal, but nonetheless I wanted to avoid that. yes, I'm picky.

Next morning i asked to be moved to 3rd floor. Surprise they moved me!

Breakfast: I don't need alot for breakfast, but this was extremely light. The pastries were probably purchased at a neighborhood grocery store, and probably not the most expensive. Yogurt was ok. Bananas were green. Coffee not great. I skipped.

Restaurant: closed down in August. New one is supposed to open in Nov 2012. Lots of local places to pick from.

Kudos: I returned from work around 5:30 on a Friday to throw my stuff in the room and head out to dinner to encounter people hanging out of open 2nd and 3rd floor sliders drinking, smoking, laughing, etc. More were on the way up external stairs. GREAT >:( !!!

Short conversation with a partying cowgirl explains it: this is the pre-party for some country-western concert.

I called the hotel from the restaurant explaining problem, asking for another room. Reply: "sorry we are booked." I hate that reply. But the manager said "You aren't the one to move, if they are loud, they will leave. Not you.". I like the spirit, but make it happen. I get back, stop by front desk, she went over to building but it was quiet. She manager said if I hear anything call.

12:20am yelling, multiple persons. I called front desk=quiet in 10mins. Front desk manager+2 security took care of it. Kudos to her!!! I like the spirit!!

Overall: It's fine for those that don't mind something out of the ordinary, and great value given cost of lodging in area. If you may find the super tropical, asian, water thing interesting, this may be your place.

If you are someone that likes consistency, expect rooms and buildings at least like a Courtyard, Hyatt, Westin, what some call antiseptic, rooms without alot of character (such as I do)., you may want to think again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    101
    33
    15
    11
See reviews for
65
74
31
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

i stayed in Dinah's Garden Hotel in July for business for a few nights. It is hard to believe that you can find a hotel/motor inn like this one in the middle of Palo Alto with gardens and little paths winding between one-story buildings, the pool and the reception area. It offers free wifi (always important), the rooms are big, bright and clean and the neighborhood is quiet and good for jogging. it takes about 5 minutes to drive to the nearest Whole Foods and about 10 to the Stanford campus. It is not expensive considering its CA location and the staff is pleasant. Its restaurant, Trader Vic's, is well liked by the locals and the food is not bad. It is a pleasant place that I recommend for those who don't mind not staying in hotels with big concrete buildings.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I had a two bedroom suite. Room was very clean. Complimentary breakfast every morning, which was great. Taxis available all the time. Beautiful grounds. Didn't use the pool, but it looked very clean. King size beds and flat screen tvs. The suite had two bedrooms and 2 1/2 baths. Very spacious. Kitchenette very equipped. Clean towels and linens at a phone call away. Toilettries too. Great place to stay if on business.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I have stayed here on several occasions in the past for business and this time I was given one of the suites - amazing! The room had a jacuzzi bath, kitchenette and even an exercise bike - great for those of us with jetlag and needing to get to the gym before it opens! Unfortunately when I went the restaurants were closed for refurbishment and so breakfast was a small display in the lobby and dinner meant going over to the Crowne Plaza opposite. But despite that, this is always a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the suites in the 800 block - they all have individual themes and are really luxur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I have stayed at Dinah's every other year for the USC-Stanford game since 1975. We always looked forward to the little cafe at the pool for breakfast and lunch. Were we surpised when we found the cafe was closed for renovations upon arrival on our annual trip. Hey Dinah's why not at least serve coffe and rolls in the morning----especially since you didn't inform anyone that the cafe was closed. Beyond that they have done something to the water system to accommodate the Greenies and have cut the water coming out of the shower to a near impossible situation, ABSOLUTELY UNACCEPTABLE.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed at Dinah's garden hotel for three weeks on a business trip in Palo Alto. The rooms were fairly basic, but always clean and with a nice flat screen TV. I was moved from one room to another part way through the stay and whilst the shower was good in the first room, in the second it was a bath / shower combined, which was both difficult to get into due to the strange bathroom layout and rather lacking in power.

There is also do it yourself free laundry service which was very useful and quick.
The pool area was very nice and the breakfasts from the bar grill were very good. Huge omelettes and delicious orange juice were my favourites. Beware though, that on weekends there can be quite a wait for a table, so best to reserve one.

Unfortunately the Trader Vics bar and restaurant that adjoins the hotel had recently closed down and the replacement restaurant isn't due to be opened until the end of October 2012. This meant that we had to go over the road to the Crown Plaza hotel for drinks.

Room Tip: I would choose a room in block 3. Close to reception and handy for the laundry area. Also that blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bruxelles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The hotel looks nice - even if expensive for what it really offer- especially gardens. Rooms are standard and furniture a bit old style. Breakfast not included and the one for 10$$ in pretty poor.
Is located in camino real, if you don't have a car, don't stay there, since anything is around.
Staff of no help on giving advices on where to go and actually they did several mistakes for payment. After 2 weeks as well no follow up of their mistakes.
I wouldn't advice a long stay there, maybe could be ok for one night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dinah's Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dinah's Garden Hotel

Address: 4261 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#3 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dinah's Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Dinah's Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dinahs Garden
Dinahs Garden Hotel
Dinahs Garden Palo Alto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dinah's Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.