We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Motel...old school but that is a good thing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Palo Alto - San Jose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Palo Alto - San Jose to your Saves list
Days Inn Palo Alto - San Jose
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4238 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Palo Alto
oakland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Small Motel...old school but that is a good thing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Recently on a business trip, I needed a place close to the Vallombrosa Center in Menlo Park, and this motel is 4 miles away. It also was a bargain through Priceline. The room offered the standard amenities.I was pleasantly surprised by all the complimentary snacks available, along with coffee. Nutra Grain bars, cocoa, teas, trail mix, two different danish, popcorn, and bottled water.
I never heard upstairs neighbors, or late night noise on a busy avenue. All the linens were fresh.
The few complaints from other trip advisors do not reflect my experience.
I was also able to check in early, which is always a nice perk.
There are restaurants in walking distance. I would recommend Trader Vics for drinks and dinner and Hobees a block away for a good breakfast.
This place is old school, and has a sixties feel as you drive onto the well landscaped property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    31
    33
    22
    20
See reviews for
33
17
22
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The place is not all that cheap but has absolutely no amenities. If you get a room on the first floor, you will hear every single move of the guests upstairs. During my stay of 10 days, AC was broken for two days and water was out for one night. Expect funky smell, worn off towels, bad coffee, housekeeping waking you up early in the morning, etc. Beware, there is no free breakfast, just a few snacks like cereal bars, cookies, popcorn, punch, and water. Refrigerator is definitely a plus though my was leaky with water all around the food I put in. The location is convenient but other than that it's a shack.

Room Tip: If you absolutely have to stay in this place, ask for a room upstairs or one of the few rooms that d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We had our plans change at the last minute and had to find a hotel at 10PM for that night. I looked online at the "BringFido.com" website for a dog-friendly motel that wasn't too expensive. When I called, from the car, to make the reservation the female clerk wanted to charge me $99 plus $10 for the dog. When I told her that their rate on the Bring Fido site was a lot less, she lowered the price to $89, plus the dog fee. The place is undergoing major remodeling, with some rooms still under construction. The room they gave us was spacious, but needed some serious decorating help...yellow walls and maroon granite counters in the bathroom. Upon closer inspection, we found the hair dryer falling off the bathroom wall and scalding hot water coming out of the faucet.
We were just about to fall asleep, when we heard water dripping in the bathroom. When we investigated, we found water pouring out of the ceiling over the bathtub. Apparently, the guest in the room above us left the water running and it overflowed OR the pipe broke in the wall. We never did find out what caused the problem. We called the desk and they said there was nothing they could do since it was midnight. We had to ask that they give us another room.
Room #2 was exactly the same layout, but with a better color scheme. We found poorly painted walls, a patched-up bath ceiling, and another loose fitting hair dryer on the wall.
Breakfast was OK, but nothing fancy.
The advantage to this place is that it's right on El Camino Real and near restaurants, shopping, and easy access to other Silicon Valley towns.

Room Tip: Be like the European travelers and ask to check the room before you take it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

We had a great stay in this hotel. Perfect location, just along the main road close to shops, restaurants and most of all to Stanford Hospital which was the purpose of our visit. Also good price for the amenities they have which includes wi-fi, fridge, microwave, spacious room and a bonus of an outdoor pool, can't really complain for the price! Sam, the manager, was also friendly and accommodating! Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Will not go back to this hotel!! Making a quick trip to Palo Alto, needed a place to sleep for a few hours. Parking is horrible. TV had only a few channels with sound. When the heater kicked on it sounded like someone was playing drums on the ceiling (suspect water pipes in the ceiling). Breakfast was Costco juice box and packaged danish. When I checked out, and mentioned the above issues to the desk clerk, he didn't seem to care.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

I stayed here with my daughter while she was at a Stanford sports clinic. The staff was friendly. The room was completely renovated and VERY clean. All of the amenities were there including a microwave and refrigerator. Although located next to a main street, the room was quiet. The AC/heater was whisper quiet (unlike those noisy units found in most hotels) and the thermostat setting was spot on - no overheating the room. The mattress was comfy - really good night's sleep. When we come back next summer, this will be the place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

If visiting Stanford, nice renovated room at a good price. I will be back again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Days Inn Palo Alto - San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Palo Alto - San Jose

Address: 4238 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Palo Alto - San Jose 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Wyndham and Odigeo so you can book your Days Inn Palo Alto - San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Palo Alto - San Jose Hotel Palo Alto
Palo Alto Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Palo Alto - San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.