We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bang for your buck” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Palo Alto - San Jose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Palo Alto - San Jose to your Saves list
Days Inn Palo Alto - San Jose
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4238 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Palo Alto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bang for your buck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel while in town for BFD 2011. And we were pleasantly suprised with the clean rooms, reasonable prices and, in room amenities. We Liked it so much we already booked it for our next trip out there.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    28
    27
    17
    15
See reviews for
29
15
21
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Clarkston, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

The rooms are old but they are kept incredibly clean. Even the sidewalks are swept. There is a white plastic lawn chair in front of each room and they look like they just came from the store. The most interest part is the 'continental breakfast' consists of a generous assortment of breakfast bars, wrapped pastries, cookies, chips, microwave popcorn, hot chocolate, coffee and tea. These items are all placed on the coffee tray. There is no room for a conventional breakfast at this motel so you are able to enjoy your 'breakfast' in your room.
The heating/air conditioning unit is placed above the closet and the fan is noisy but it does the job.
I stayed here to visit a friend who was in the Stanford University Medical Center. The bus service is easy, efficient and reasonably priced.
Overall, I consider this place is a good value and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask to see a room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

I stayed at Days Inn in Palo Alto just a few days ago and found it to be a charming little place tucked away in Palo Alto. The rooms were excellent, neat, tidy, clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was good. The staff was courteous, friendly and polite, they made me feel welcome at the hotel. Nice location, close to Stanford and Palo Alto. I was very happy with my stay here, would easily come back again for business. All in all a big thumbs up..

Room Tip: Talk to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

My daughters and I were college hunting over Spring Break, and chose this Days Inn because of price, location, good reviews as well as the AAA rating. Poor customer service soured our experience. We arrived late, having traveled all day. I had a printout of my reservation which showed the total price for me and children. The office person argued that the reservation on her computer screen was for me only, and that my children would cost extra. We went back and forth. It didn't matter what was on my printout from the website. Finally, because of the hour I agreed to pay extra. I told her I would be complaining, and she was fine with that. Then, suddenly, while processing my payment she saw on her computer screen that my reservation included my children. I still didn't get my original price, but it was just a bit higher and I was too tired to argue. This really put a damper on our stay. Add to this, the front windows did not lock properly; the hair dryer shorted out every minute or two; the alarm clock went off loud and clear at 3:30 in the morning (don't you think they should check something like that?); wifi was impossibly slow, and one of the keys didn’t work.
On the positive side, this is a clean motel. It has been renovated in the past couple years. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast is very light—it’s pre-stocked in your room: 2 danish, packet of chocolate chip cookies, popcorn, chips, 2 juices, waters, coffee.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

I stayed there for the evening before a meeting and had the pleasure of meeting the property manager of hotel ..What a friendly and helpful person.She makes you feel at home and tries to accomendate you in every way. The rooms are very clean the property is extremely quiet and whenever in the the area i will never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

Recently returned from a five night stay. Really excellent for a budget motel. The property is old and it shows, particularly in the common areas. But the rooms were recently remodeled, bath is clean and modern, bed is very comfortable. Room was quiet and set well back from El Camino Real. AC was also quiet.

The wireless internet is not the speediest, but the signal is strong. The "breakfast" is just a selection of packaged goods - pastries, snack bars, popcorn, water, juice boxes, coffee, etc. replenished in the room each day. Room is outfitted with microwave, refrigerator, and plenty of programming available on the TV.

This property is a very good value, would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

This motel was reasonablely priced, it was immaculate with a fresh coat of paint on the walls and pristine tile grount in the bathroom. The manager was friendily and helpful. On my trip to visit colleges this was the least expensive, the cleanest, and the best value of the three different motel chains in which we stayed.
GUY GIEMONT

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Palo Alto - San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Palo Alto - San Jose

Address: 4238 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Palo Alto - San Jose 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Wyndham, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Palo Alto - San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Palo Alto - San Jose Hotel Palo Alto
Palo Alto Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Palo Alto - San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.