We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff, great location, comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cardinal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cardinal Hotel to your Saves list
Cardinal Hotel
235 Hamilton Ave., Palo Alto, CA 94301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Palo Alto
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Helpful staff, great location, comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

My son and I just came back from a 3-day, 2-night stay at the Cardinal Hotel. In addition to its location (several good restaurants within 2 blocks, and a Whole Foods market three blocks away), the hotel has a library upstairs from the lobby with two desktop computers and a large table for studying and working, plus two or three couches - a very comfortable space. We both had work to do and our flight home did not leave San Jose until 10:00 pm, and check out time was noon. The staff was kind enough to let us use the library and computers until we left for the airport a little after 8:00 pm. Very helpful and hospitable.
While I agree the walls are thin (I'm pretty sure we had Oregon Duck fans next door to us, and they had reason to celebrate Saturday night; the other night we stayed was fine), I believe the matress was a Tempur-Pedic, so it made sleeping easier.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    49
    13
    8
    7
See reviews for
20
20
36
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

For $85, this is great value. 'Old school' is right in terms of atmosphere- reception area is like a ballroom in size but old school rather than glam. Rooms are excellent with good bed- very clean. Free computers to use. Slightly thin walls so you can hear conversations next door (time to turn up the TV volume!). Free coffee in reception and generally had everything I want from a room. Decent size. I had no bathroom- shared. I'm happy with that. The shower-room and loo (separate) were very smart. Best thing though is the location which is bang in the middle of town. 100 yards from the main shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for European room to have no personal bathroom and cheaper rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

We have stayed at the Cardinal Hotel on many occasions. The rooms are always spotless, there is coffee in the rooms, as well as the lobby. The lobby itself is warm and comfortable, great for reading or visiting. The location of this grand hotel is right in the heart of downtown Palo Alto, within walking distance of wonderful shops, grocery stores, and banks, as well as the post office. There is good parking on the street, or in the city facility across the street, Best of all is the friendly, helpful staff. It is indeed a home away from home!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Old school, traditional feel, in a 'seasoned', cared for facility. Attentive to all basic needs. Step outside and you're in the thick of shops and food and drinks. Public parking across the street. Been there three times over the years for reunions and the place seemed even better than before. HOT, strong coffee in the thermoses in the afternoon when I checked in! A great little secret in my book.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

The hotel lobby is old world beautiful. My room was clean with a very comfy bed, big tv, large shower. Walls are thin so it can be a little noisy if the guy next door talks a little loud. The guys at the front desk when I checked in weren't very welcoming and didn't even offer to help a small girl with her luggage. The woman at the desk later in the week was very friendly, as was the lady at checkout. Location can't be beat. Parking is decent...if you can't find street parking the garage at city hall is right across the street.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

I stayed 5 nights and found this hotel perfect. I did not rent a car and the location could not be better - 2 blocks from Caltrain, 2 blocks from a Whole Foods, downtown Palo Alto all around you. I saved money in a room with sink/shared bath/toilet in the hall; I had packed a lightweight bathrobe for the hallway trips, and it was no inconvenience at all; I appreciated that the bathrooms were kept immaculately clean. I loved having a window that opened and found the room very comfortable. The library in the alcove off the lobby is great, it's so nice to have a couple of places to be comfortable in outside of your room, and have the chance to meet other guests. The staff people were all very helpful. The hotel has a great combination of private and quiet with a personal touch. The coffee in the lobby (with real half-and-half!) is very good. I plan to stay here next time I visit the area.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

This is a fine old hotel, with period features preserved, and friendly staff. It's simple, practical and unfussy. Half a block away is the Peninsula Creamery, a great old-style diner (the pies!!!), or on Saturdays the Farmers' Market is a couple blocks away. The hotel is also only a short walk from the train station, and all of downtown Palo Alto lies at your doorstep. We always stay there and hope it will never change. If only more hotels were like this one, travelling could be fun again. They need to open a branch in New York!

Room Tip: Quieter rooms at the back - Palo Alto is now home to late-night bar noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cardinal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardinal Hotel

Address: 235 Hamilton Ave., Palo Alto, CA 94301
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Palo Alto
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#6 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Old World charm in vibrant downtown Palo Alto. Built in 1924, the Cardinal was Palo Alto’s premiere Hotel. Today the ambiance remains; the gracious lobby still provides a delightful glimpse of Old Palo Alto. Enjoy the hotel’s warm atmosphere and proximity to world class dining, shopping and Stanford University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cardinal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardinal Hotel Palo Alto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cardinal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.