We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms and grounds, helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Creekside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Creekside Inn to your Saves list
Creekside Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3400 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Palo Alto
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, California
1 review
“Nice rooms and grounds, helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Rooms were spacious and clean, some with very nice views. Definitely a step up from a regular chain motel. In addition to a restaurant, a full-service deli and mini-mart type convenience store is located on grounds. Complimentary drink tickets are provided for the evening happy hour - a nice touch. Wifi is complimentary as well.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the gardens have much nicer views than those overlooking the street or pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    118
    45
    24
    12
See reviews for
74
59
34
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I was booked into the Creekside Inn by my school which sent me from Australia to California for a 1 day symposium. The staff at the creekside went above and beyond when I realised that my room had not yet been paid for as I had been told. Stacey gave me contacts and the support I needed to have all this fixed up before I even settled in. Even with the 18 hour time difference.
She also very generously upgraded my room.
The free wine tasting, free shuttle, free internet access as well as all the great facilities make this place fantastic.
Another staff member, Lesley! also helped on my last day even though I had checked out! I was able to use the shuttle and call up for help any time. Thanks also goes to tony! the shuttle driver. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreeksideMGR, General Manager at Creekside Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Teresa B.,
Thank you for taking the time to summarize your great experience at the Creekside Inn Hotel with such kind comments. We are happy that your stay was comfortable, and that you enjoyed your room upgrade, wine tasting and our staff who strives to always provide exceptional service. I am also pleased you enjoyed our complimentary shuttle and that it was useful to you during your stay. Hope you have a safe trip back to Australia!!

Sincerely,
Luis Carreno
General Manager
Creekside Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I was excpecting a lot more from this hotel judging by its website. Lush gardens, a beautiful pool, restful rooms... In reality, it is slightly more than a regular budget motel. They have made an effort to upgrade the rooms. Mine was a nice size with a good workspace, nice carpeting and decent bathroom. But, the walls were so thin I could hear in detail every time my neighbor used the bathroom, as though they were in the room with me. I heard clearly normal volume phone conversations through the walls. My room looked over a parking lot just off a busy main drag, not a beautiful lush garden as i was expecting. The bed was not up to par with what i have experienced in nice hotels recently. Staff was uneven including a couple who were fairly unhelpful. The pool area is small and so so. All in all not a terrible place but I was expecting something more for the price they charge and the promising photos on the website. I did not feel like this was in any way good value for the money. This was not even in the category of a Hilton Garden Inn or similar hotel. For me the best feature of the hotel was the extremely friendly shuttle driver, he was wonderful.

Room Tip: I would request a room away from the street, further back into the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreeksideMGR, General Manager at Creekside Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Customer,
We appreciate your candid feedback regarding your recent stay at the Creekside Inn Hotel. I am sorry to hear your view was not to your liking, but I do hope you were able to walk through our grounds and enjoy the landscaping. We are continuing to improve and renovate our rooms and we are glad that you were happy with the upgrades and size of your accommodations.

We hope to have the opportunity to service you again and show you the very best of the Creekside Inn Hotel.

Sincerely,
Luis Carreno
General Manager
Creekside Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Let me start with an analogy. If you bought a pair of Nike running shoes from Amazon and got a great deal, you're going to get the same quality if you got them from Nike itself, right? That apparently doesn't transfer to the hotel industry, especially if you book the Creekside Inn.

We did our due diligence and found a great deal through Hotwire. But upon check in, we got the most undesirable room in the place with ONE queen bed. When we asked if we could get a king or double beds, we were told they didn't have any more doubles... if we wanted a king, it would be an extra $80. When pressed on the issue, Prabin,? the dude at the registration desk, said he couldn't help us. It was 80 bucks or the room he'd assign to us. When pressed further, he was suddenly sold out and didn't want to help us any more.

Obviously irritated with us, he turned to a gentleman who had approached the desk. Guess what, the man wasn't happy with his room either, but Prabin suddenly pulled out a nicer room out of his backside and voila, the man was granted his wish. We on the other hand, were basically dared to take the room or walk away and find other accommodations, which we did.

It's not like this place is all that great, it's a motel dressed up to look like a 3-star hotel. It's a dump with a fresh coat of paint.

This seems to be happening more and more with Hotwire and Expedia. Hotels are dumping their less desirable rooms and giving them to people who book through these sites. What makes matters worse, you get places such as the CREEP-SIDE INN, where you get treated with bad attitude and condescending manners.

In all fairness, it's not and indictment on everyone. The night before, because we found ourselves in Palo Alto 24 hours sooner than expected, we booked the Westin through Hotwire. Upon check in, we were given a double bed, when we asked the front desk person if by chance we could be given a king-size bed, it was done immediately and with a smile. If the Westin can do this, by far a much nicer property, why can't the dumpy and moldy Creekside Inn.

Even if they were giving away free rooms at the Creekside Inn and there wasn't another place for miles, I would rather sleep on a park bench than ever set foot at this place again and much less spend any of my money here. People don't need to be treated like trash and without grace. This Prabin guy at the "Bates Motel" AKA Creekside Inn can't even spell customer care and service. Thanks for listening. You've been warned!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreeksideMGR, General Manager at Creekside Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest:
We are extremely sorry for the inconveniences that you encountered at the our hotel during your visit to our area. We will take your comments and use them in our ongoing training and role play scenarios to avoid any issues like this from taking place in the future. We value your feedback and hope that your final destination was a successful and happier occasion. Please feel free to contact me if you wish to discuss your visit to the hotel.

Sincerely,
Luis Carreno
General Manager
Creekside Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Creekside Inn is an excellent place to stay for holiday or business. Well-located in Palo Alto, it has a great ambience that makes you feel you're in the woods . .. lots of green, the layout makes it seem private although it's on El Camino Real. There are decent places to eat nearby, and a convenience store on site. The rooms are excellent - very spacious and nice balcony - the amentities and toiletries have been given extra thought, so all in all, it makes for a fantastic stay. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreeksideMGR, General Manager at Creekside Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest:
We are happy that you found the ambiance, spacious rooms and location of the Creekside Inn to be the perfect fit for your travels to Palo Alto. Thank you for your wonderful comments about our amenities and toiletries, we are glad that you enjoyed them.

We hope to welcome you back soon for another fantastic stay.

Sincerely,
Luis Carreno
General Manager
Creekside Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocoa beach
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

After traveling around southern Oregon and northern California, this was one the best experiences of a 12 day vacation. The property is in the process of being updated and offers a real bargain if you stay on the weekend. We stayed in a tower room; it was quiet and we had a view of tree tops, roofs, and the distant mountains. The landscaping on the grounds for the creekside rooms is really colorful and well kept. The breakfast in the restaurant next door was very good especially if you stick to the egg items. Without a doubt, the best part of our stay was dealing with the staff. Day manager Stacy and her colleague Joshua were totally professional when dealing with a difficult guest. What the guest wanted was unreasonable but they stayed calm, repeating the hotel policy. The next day we were helped by Joshua and Prabin who also seemed eager to help with directions, information on going to visit Stanford and restaurants. The rooms are all being updated, the grounds are great, the prices are low on weekends, the staff are topnotch; the best place to stay in Palo Alto.

Room Tip: The tower rooms are very quiet; you'll pay more for the garden/creekside ones but they are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreeksideMGR, General Manager at Creekside Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear bryantl,
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about the Creekside Inn. I am glad that our associates delivered exceptional service during your stay and that you were happy with the renovations and upgrades that the hotel continues to undergo. I was also pleased to hear you enjoyed your breakfast at our onsite restaurant and that you appreciated the lush and charming landscape surrounding our hotel. We think the Creekside Inn is the best place to stay in Palo Alto as well!

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

At your service,
Luis Carreno
General Manager
Creekside Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong ,china
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed for one night in Palo Alto and the rates are not cheap. However, they do design the hotel surrounding well and it feels quiet and relaxed even while we are in a busy neighbourhood. There is free coffe and pastries in the morning and the rooms all have patios. The location is covenient and close to restaurants and Stanford. All in all , it is a nice motor inn and I will stay here again if needed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Creekside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creekside Inn

Address: 3400 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palo Alto
#2 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
#6 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Creekside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Creekside Inn is a charming 136 room hotel located in the heart of California’s Silicon Valley, 2 miles from downtown Palo Alto and Stanford University. Situated on 3.5 beautifully landscaped acres, our guest rooms and suites are nestled in a park-like, creek side setting. Choose from standard, superior and deluxe rooms, as well as suites with kitchens. Ideal for business and leisure travelers, the Creekside Inn represents value that’s truly a find. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Creekside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creekside Hotel Palo Alto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Creekside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.