We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanksgiving stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Creekside Inn

Save Saved
You added Creekside Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Creekside Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3400 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast Package
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Palo Alto
GreenLeadersGold level
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
“Thanksgiving stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The location in Palo Alto was perfect for visiting our daughter in Redwood City. King bed was very comfortable, bathroom amenities great. Very quiet room. We heard no one else even though it seemed the place was full. I agree w/ other visitors that there was a musty smell, but we kept the sliding door open and it was fine. Noisy air conditioner which we turned off.

Room Tip: The rooms on south side are sunnier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    98
    36
    18
    12
See reviews for
59
50
30
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was my first time staying at Creekside Inn although not my first time in Palo Alto.
I was pleasantly surprised by the high level of the premises and the very kind service of the staff.


Prabin who works at the desk was particularly helpful with unexpected needs, sending a fed _ex parcel on the weekend, finding cabs and rental cars on the spur of the moment.

They made me feel very welcome and comfortable.

Thanks again, Creekside Inn.

Room Tip: Seemed like a lovely property. I was in a three story building and they also have groundfloor suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreeksideMGR, General Manager at Creekside Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest;

Thank you for taking the time to submit such positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Creekside Inn. We appreciated you taking the time to write a review and acknowledging our staff. It is great to know we are fulfilling our company’s vision by providing each guest with the opportunity to experience exceptional service!

Happy holidays!

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Luis Carreno
General Manager
Creekside Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I really enjoyed staying at the Creekside Inn, in Palo Alto. It was my first visit, and it was really quite nice. The staff was accommodating; the room was nice and clean, and they even gave us a travel crib for our baby to sleep in. In the morning they served delicious pastries and tea. If you have simple needs like me, the Creekside Inn will surpass them.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This property has several low rise buildings, each with its own entrance. The rooms are OK, but a bit on the dark side no matter how many lights you turn on (low wattage bulbs). The use of any plumbing by your neighbors can be heard. Beds are firm, perhaps too firm for many. All in all, it has all the appearance and feel of a motel, admittedly a slightly upscale motel. After one night, I relocated to Stanford Park Hotel (a few miles up El Camino).

Room Tip: Choose a room at another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a 3-star hotel at best. The room I checked out on the lowest level of The Tower building last summer was musty and mildewy, and the room that was first assigned to us on the second floor of The Tower this time smelled bad too. I think there must be a roof problem with that building, so I would never recommend anyone stay there. After complaining, we were then assigned a second floor room in the building just to the north of The Tower. The room was small and the bathroom very small. It appeared clean but "well used". All of the pillows were too fat and too squishy. The quality simply did not justify the price.

Room Tip: Physically check out your assigned room before accepting it, and do not stay in The Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreeksideMGR, General Manager at Creekside Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Valued Guest;

Although we were disappointed that we did not meet your expectations, we appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay at the Creekside Inn. Due to our garden like setting, we are surrounded by odorous botanicals and a natural creek that will on occasion emit scents that may be similar to mildew. Some of the trees on property are over fifty years old and the Tower building is set amongst them. I assure you our rooms do not contain mold or mildew as our facilities undergo rigorous inspections regularly. Nonetheless, we apologize for your experience and hope you decide to return to the Creekside Inn if your travels bring you back to Palo Alto.


Luis Carreno
General Manager
Creekside Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed there on a recent trip to the Stanford area. Rooms are clean, with a somewhat stale smell that's not a real surprise within this price range. AC works fine. The toilet/shower room is very cramped - it's very easy to hit the bathroom door with the shower's door. Breakfast pastries are good, but they seem to put away the food as early as 9am.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I visited Creekside Inn on Friday night (11/2/12), and just want to say thanks for the great experience.

From the Front Desk staff (Elena, Chrsitine and Naveed) to the housekeeping and maintenance folks (Pedro and Benjamin), I was very impressed with the professionalism and thoughtfulness each person exhibited.

I'm hoping to return again soon!

Thanks so much!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Creekside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creekside Inn

Address: 3400 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palo Alto
#5 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
#9 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Creekside Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Creekside Inn is a charming 136 room hotel located in the heart of California’s Silicon Valley, 2 miles from downtown Palo Alto and Stanford University. Situated on 3.5 beautifully landscaped acres, our guest rooms and suites are nestled in a park-like, creek side setting. Choose from standard, superior and deluxe rooms, as well as suites with kitchens. Ideal for business and leisure travelers, the Creekside Inn represents value that’s truly a find. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Creekside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creekside Hotel Palo Alto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Creekside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.