We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A peaceful oasis, close to the heart of Stanford University"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Creekside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Creekside Inn to your Saves list
Creekside Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3400 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20%
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Palo Alto
GreenLeadersGold level
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"A peaceful oasis, close to the heart of Stanford University"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Excellent experience. The Manager went out of her way and smoothed over a difficult booking via Hotels.com. My room was large, quiet and comfortable with a pretty view of the creek from my private terrace. It was surprising how quiet it was, because it is located on the El Camino Real - a busy street. A restaurant (Cibo) and a small convienience store are also located on the property. My bed was very, very comfortable. Thank you Prabin and the entire staff at the Creekside Inn!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back along the creek are very quiet and offer little terraces with a patio table and ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    109
    38
    21
    12
See reviews for
65
54
30
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed here four nights for a family trip and enjoyed our stay. Two adults and two young boys (ages 8 and 4 at the time of the trip). The room was small, but fine, since most of our trip was spent out and about. The bathroom was small, but clean, and fine. The grounds are very pretty, landscaped very nicely, parking is easy, the hotel is close to Whole Foods, and to several other shopping areas. It's easy to get to freeways from the hotel. Our room was quiet at night. Our two young sons had a lot of fun playing in the pool.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is an old property but kept clean.

Rooms have large beds but have small showers.

The internet (free) is very slow there and my phone reception was very bad, I had problems making business calls.

The location of the hotel isn't perfect either but if you have a car there is a free parking so you can quickly drive to any place you need.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Creekside Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest;

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at the Creekside Inn!

While we are very different than some of our brand competitors, our charming boutique style hotel borders on historical landmark status with over fifty years in the Palo Alto community and we take pride in keeping the property fresh. We have recently upgraded our Deluxe Creek King rooms with new furnishings, bathroom fixtures and overall décor. Additionally, we have installed more bandwidth to accommodate multiple internet devices.

Although there are many restaurants within walking distance, perhaps you were not able to take advantage of our most popular value packed amenity during your visit; however, our complimentary shuttle service will gladly transport guests anywhere within a five mile radius of the hotel.

We certainly appreciate your business and hope to welcome you back soon as there is always something new to discover at the Creekside Inn!

Kind regards and safe travels,


Luis Carreno
General Manager
Creekside Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Excellent experience. Our room was very quiet and clean with a comfortable bed. Very pleasant view too. The staff went above and beyond the call of duty to assist. Others have mentioned Prabin specifically. He is absolutely terrific - thank you Prabin and the entire team at Creekside Inn. A refreshing gem of a hotel in Palo Alto.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This hotel was horrible! We booked the hotel based on previous reviews and pictures on the internet. Because of our reservation 8 other families decided to book their hotel there for a group trip we were planning. When we arrived we were not impressed by the look of the hotel at all. When we went to check in at 3 pm at the posted check in time, our room was not ready. It wasn't ready for almost another hour and unfortunatly this was the case for half of our group. The room were very small, which is actually fine, but they were also smelly and not clean!!!! Some families got tiny rooms when they paid less than other families who paid more! For as big as the hotel is, the pool was tiny and quickly crowded. The staff made the whole experience even worse. They were unacccomodating, unaplogetic, rude, and complacent. Save yourself the headache and find another hotel. Trust me, you will regret staying there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Creekside Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Although we are disappointed we did not meet your expectations, we appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at the Creekside Inn. We apologize for the delayed check in, as it was an extremely busy weekend, and are sorry you felt our staff was not helpful. Group bookings are usually done through our sales department and have a negotiated room block will ensure room type availability as well as a smoother check in process since rooms are pre-keyed prior to arrival. We are truly sorry that you were unhappy with our efforts, though we did upgrade some of your group members to large suites. We are also sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the cleanliness of your room, as our housekeepers are held to the highest industry standards.


Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.

Kind Regards and Safe travels,

Luis Carreno
General Manager
Creekside Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Great location, clean, close to Stanford. Rooms have options for 2 doubles, which are comfortable. The rooms are due for an update, especially the bathrooms- showers woefully too small.

Room Tip: Book early and get a good price. We arrived one day early and paid twice the rate of the other days...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

My impression of the Creekside Inn was that it is CA version of the Marigold Hotel.
Loved the movie but expected more in the hotel. I do think their advertising agency sells this property, well! The pictures of the hotel and property are gorgeous and inviting. In reality it is not. It is old but clean and the grounds are well cared for. The rooms are satisfactory but the lighting is almost non existent. Thank heaven for the window. I'm all for going "green" but the lack of light in the bathroom was ridiculous! People in lobby were friendly.
There are much better properties in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Creekside Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Although we are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations, we do appreciate your recent feedback regarding your stay at the Creekside Inn. Our hotel is a charming boutique style hotel, different from the larger brands in our area. Our loyal guests enjoy our hotel for the very reasons we are unique; beautifully maintained grounds with fragrant botanicals, a natural creek that runs through the property accompanied by lovely fountains and sitting areas. While the hotel has been in the Palo Alto community for almost 55 years, we strive to keep our property updated. Within the last few years, we have consistently renovated all of our guestrooms and continue to keep the product fresh. Our value added amenities are also a favorite amongst our guests.

We certainly understand we cannot always be a perfect fit for everyone; however, we hope that you might give the Creekside Inn another chance if your travels bring you back to Palo Alto.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,
Luis Carreno
General Manager
Creekside Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Creekside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creekside Inn

Address: 3400 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palo Alto
#5 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#9 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Creekside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Creekside Inn is a charming 136 room hotel located in the heart of California’s Silicon Valley, 2 miles from downtown Palo Alto and Stanford University. Situated on 3.5 beautifully landscaped acres, our guest rooms and suites are nestled in a park-like, creek side setting. Choose from standard, superior and deluxe rooms, as well as suites with kitchens. Ideal for business and leisure travelers, the Creekside Inn represents value that’s truly a find. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Creekside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creekside Hotel Palo Alto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Creekside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.