We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, homey and great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cowper Inn

Cowper Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palo Alto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cowper Inn
705 Cowper St, Palo Alto, CA 94301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Palo Alto B&B and Inns
MA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Charming, homey and great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Room 32 is VERY tiny; only OK for solo. Shared bathroom no problem; never had to wait for toilet or shower. Wonderful breakfast and coffee available by 6:45. VERY NOISY. Windows do not cut out any of the noise. PArking on the street always available. Was there for 3 nights and would stay there again. Pricey by normal standards but reasonable for Palo Alto.

Room Tip: Stay in the main house, upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    6
    6
    6
See reviews for
6
12
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011 via mobile

We stayed in the Carriage House and it was wonderful, like a litle apt. Staff was excellent with a nice breakfast. Heathly and fresh just the way we like it when traveling.
Perfect location!!!! A few blocks and your right in the middle of the lovely Palo Alto. Highly recommend !!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

It has been really hard to rate this inn.

We stayed in two different rooms during our stay. Both rooms were dilapidated and could use renovation. One of the rooms had a faint moldy smell.

Service is friendly. but a little informal and slap dash - we asked to be in the main house after returning from a road trip and we were told this would be fine, but in the end we were back in the Victorian house.

Despite this, the place just oozes charm and we were happy staying there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Conveniently located B & B in downtown Palo Alto. Clean rooms but not terribly quiet.
Delicious homemade breakfast included...very nice.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the main building and not in the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Certainly the worst service we've had on this California trip. No one to greet us on arrival. No one to explain how to log onto the Wifi (in Silicon Valley no less). Breakfast was mediocre. Room was small and smelt strange. On check-out we called out and rang the bell several times before phoning. We could hear the manager / proprietor on the other side of the door - well within earshot of the bell. She appeared reluctantly, made a few excuses and offered a $4 discount on a $179 bill.

You will do better elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011 via mobile

The Cowper Inn is a quaint B & B, but if you use them I would recommend you ask them for the room that is not on the first floor. I it by the front door and people have to lock and unlock it when they come in and out, which is all night. Oh and there is that lovely "Ring this bell" for service annoyance all day. 

And in the morning, there is a loud echo because all the people eating and talking sitting in the lobby or dining area are literally on the other side of the door. I went out at 7:3o am today and asked 2 men if they didn't mind talking more softly because there was an echo into my room. They did but 3 more people arrive a few minutes later and it started all over.

I killed 3 Mosquitos in the bathroom and 1 giant spider last night, but today I woke up to a spider web connecting my deodorant to the mirror over the sink.

I called for directions from airport but the person who answered kept hanging up and saying I had wrong number. 3 people called number on website same thing. So I found my way here and the door was locked. I had no idea how to get in. They should email guests with information about how to get in if there is no one here, when they confirm.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed at the Cowper Inn for one week during which time we stayed in 2 different rooms. We were in the room 26 as mentioned in a previous review. We were initially thrilled with the space, though as we settled it was clear the furnishings were old and poorly maintained. Kitchenette poorly stocked- a few random utensils, no cleaning supplies, no kitchen towels. Housekeeping left dishes to be dried on paper towels which left a wet mess for us to clean up. Bathrobes in closet were old, pill-y fleece in serious need of replacement- rough on the skin when worn. Bedroom eaves were so steep you couldn't stand next to bed. This room DID NOT have its own en suite bath, but rather had a "private" bath down the hall which was inconvenient and full of black mold creeping up the wall corners. Yuck. Management- PLEASE revamp room 26 and its bath.

The second room was a major upgrade. In the main house, larger private bathroom, nicely appointed with furniture that felt appropriate for B&B without feeling tired.

The breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed some of the best blueberry pancakes I've ever eaten. We thought management and housekeeping were friendly, we did notice that there was rarely anyone at the front desk, so can see others' frustration at check in, etc. I wil say that the price for this downtown Palo Alto location is probably the lowest you'll find. Are we just getting what we pay for?

This review is a tough one... Avoid the Victorian House- it needs some serious TLC. Truthfully, I would not send my family here to stay given the inconsistency among rooms and potential for discomfort and less than ideal conditions.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cowper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cowper Inn

Address: 705 Cowper St, Palo Alto, CA 94301
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cowper Inn is a beautifully restored Craftsman style house that recreates the comfort and elegance of the period's best homes. The parlor, with several conversation areas, a fireplace, and a piano, is a warm and gracious room for visiting or relaxing. Each uniquely shaped guest room is furnished with antiques, television, and telephone. Breakfast, featuring seasonal fruit and fresh-baked breads, is served daily in the paneled dining room. Guests may enjoy sitting outside on the two wicker-decorated porches or in the garden. There is parking on the grounds and easy access to public transportation to San Francisco and San Jose. The Inn is part of the quiet residential neighborhood of Professorville. Downtown Palo Alto's restaurants, shops, and people watching are a two minute walk from the Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cowper Hotel Palo Alto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cowper Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cowper Inn to your Saves list