We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Wasn't Impressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Berbeda Place

Save Saved
You added Berbeda Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Berbeda Place
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3339 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306 (Formerly Palo Alto Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 24 hotels in Palo Alto
Mead, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I Wasn't Impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed here on a business trip. It was the only hotel available for the dates I needed. Upon checkin I realized the hotel was not in a good part of town and only offered ground level roome. The room interior was ok however the shower was disgusting. It had black stuff growing in it and the room smelled old. I showered in my socks! I was previously a consultant and have stayed in multiple hotels and I wouldn't recommend this one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    7
    2
    3
    6
See reviews for
1
1
12
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Daly City, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Terrific location on El Camino just walking distance from blocks and blocks of shopping, restaurants, coffee and much much more. Hop in the car and you are minutes from Stanford Shopping Center. The lodge is older; but rooms are updated and decorated nicely. Friendly run lodge with the comforts of home. With parking right outside your room, this is a great place for a business trip stay, couples, and families.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I am a Customer Service Representative for a well known corporate travel agency. Today I received a concern from a client who found the property to be unsafe and the room unsatisfactory (located in a bad neighborhood, room on ground level, etc.) The client returned her room key and due to no other vacancies the client had to drive the remaining three hours home. As a Customer Service Representative, I contacted the hotel directly on behalf of the client to see if they would consider refunding the client, but they would not budge. On top of this, the service provided by Mike the General Manager was unacceptable. He refused to listen, talked over me and hung up on me. I would suggest never confirming a reservation at this property.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Great location, friendly staff, located around great restaurants and very close to major attractions in the heart of Silicon Valley. The rooms are clean and well decorated. If you are in town for business or just dropping by to check out a game at Stanford, this would be the place to go.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Excellent Palo Alto location, on El Camino Real just S. of Stanford University but away from university and downtown congestion, small project with EZ access, park in front of your room, older motel with rooms upgraded and wired for today's devices, family run with thorough knowledge of the area, terrific service, basic amenities, perfect for the business traveler and tourist needing just the basics, my first recommendation for friends and clients needing a place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms off the street and in back are in the middle of the block, and away from traffic and noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos Hills, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

This property is very well-situated on El Camino Real close to the California Avenue business and restaurant district. The remodeled rooms are kept spotlessly clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. The rates are a terrific bargain. I don't mind that there aren't a lot of amenities since the area already has so much to offer. The beds are extremely comfortable and there is surprisingly little traffic noise.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I called this hotel to inquire about availability and rates for specific dates - I was told to go to the website! He said he could not tell me the rates - 'they are on the website; it changes for each week, so you need to look them up'; when I asked about proximity to Stanford University and what public transportation was available - I was again told to check the website . . . . nevermind, I don't need to pay for that kind of customer service.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Berbeda Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berbeda Place

Address: 3339 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306 (Formerly Palo Alto Lodge)
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Berbeda Place 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1945 mid-century motor court maintained and refreshed with an ultra-modern and mid-century modern/desert chic vibe. Palo Alto Lodge is 100% smoke free and an eco-friendly property located in the birthplace of Silicon Valley near Matadero Creek, approx. 1 mile from Stanford University/Hospital/Shopping Center and walking distance to public transportation [Bus 22, Cal-Train, Stanford Marguerite]. Adjacent to high end restaurants such as Indo Restaurant & Lounge and Hunan Garden. Revel in modern comforts such as free WiFi, Satellite TV, 42" flat screen HDTV's, express check-in/out, luxury bedding, air purified/sanitized rooms, cordless telephones with VM/Bluetooth, AM/FM alarm clock radio, iPod/iPhone dock stations, organic cotton blend bath towels, eco-friendly personal care amenities, microwave, refrigerator/freezer, in-room coffeemaker and iron/ironing board. * NO PETS ALLOWED. We have a strict no pet policy. We love animals, but maintain pet-free rooms. If a pet is found to have stayed in any of our rooms a 375USD deep cleaning fee will be assessed and eviction. * WE ARE A 100% SMOKE FREE PROPERTY. A 250USD minimum deep cleaning fee will be assessed for guest infractions and eviction. Check-in Instructions: * Max. occupancy per room: 1 adult only. * Min. guest/check-in age: 21. * Guests must show valid government-issued proof of identity and credit card at the time of check-in. * Check-in: after 3 PM. Early check-in is by request only and not guaranteed. 50USD early check-in fee applies. * Late check-in: after 10 PM. Guests planning to arrive after 10 PM must contact the property in advance to arrange for a late check-in. * Check-out: before 11 AM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Berbeda Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berbeda Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.