We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berbeda Place

Save Saved
You added Berbeda Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Berbeda Place
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3339 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306 (Formerly Palo Alto Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 24 hotels in Palo Alto
Menlo Park, California
1 review
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Great location, friendly staff, located around great restaurants and very close to major attractions in the heart of Silicon Valley. The rooms are clean and well decorated. If you are in town for business or just dropping by to check out a game at Stanford, this would be the place to go.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    7
    2
    3
    6
See reviews for
1
1
12
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Excellent Palo Alto location, on El Camino Real just S. of Stanford University but away from university and downtown congestion, small project with EZ access, park in front of your room, older motel with rooms upgraded and wired for today's devices, family run with thorough knowledge of the area, terrific service, basic amenities, perfect for the business traveler and tourist needing just the basics, my first recommendation for friends and clients needing a place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms off the street and in back are in the middle of the block, and away from traffic and noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos Hills, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

This property is very well-situated on El Camino Real close to the California Avenue business and restaurant district. The remodeled rooms are kept spotlessly clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. The rates are a terrific bargain. I don't mind that there aren't a lot of amenities since the area already has so much to offer. The beds are extremely comfortable and there is surprisingly little traffic noise.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I called this hotel to inquire about availability and rates for specific dates - I was told to go to the website! He said he could not tell me the rates - 'they are on the website; it changes for each week, so you need to look them up'; when I asked about proximity to Stanford University and what public transportation was available - I was again told to check the website . . . . nevermind, I don't need to pay for that kind of customer service.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEATLE
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

I travel a few times a year to the Palo Alto Area, and after trying out different Places, I came up on Palo Alto Lodge On a Website. I was impressed for the first time that I walked into the office. The property is Nicely kept and great Location with no traffic noise. I noticed that the rooms have been recently remodeled, something thats always a plus when looking for somewhere clean and modern. Parking is plentiful and the lighting is not an issue. I have stayed in this property a couple of times, and so far I have no reasons to try somewhere else.

Room Tip: My preference is always Non-smoking with a king Bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

For the price, this was a terrific value. I recommended it to several friends, and I believe they'll be going there as well when they head down to the Palo Alto area in March. My room was clean, the staff was friendly, and I didn't have any complaints. A couple of other people have written on here that the rooms are "cozy," but mine seemed spacious enough. Enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

This family owned establishment has been freshly remodeled and is a wonderful place to stay. The owners are very friendly and passionate about providing great service. The rooms are cozy and stylish! The decor has an updated yet classic style that is simple, clean and welcoming. If you stay here you have to check out the huge plants next to the front office. The owners had it brought here from India and the flowers are amazing! They only bloom once in the very early morning hours but they are a sight to be seen.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Berbeda Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berbeda Place

Address: 3339 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306 (Formerly Palo Alto Lodge)
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Berbeda Place 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1945 mid-century motor court maintained and refreshed with an ultra-modern and mid-century modern/desert chic vibe. Palo Alto Lodge is 100% smoke free and an eco-friendly property located in the birthplace of Silicon Valley near Matadero Creek, approx. 1 mile from Stanford University/Hospital/Shopping Center and walking distance to public transportation [Bus 22, Cal-Train, Stanford Marguerite]. Adjacent to high end restaurants such as Indo Restaurant & Lounge and Hunan Garden. Revel in modern comforts such as free WiFi, Satellite TV, 42" flat screen HDTV's, express check-in/out, luxury bedding, air purified/sanitized rooms, cordless telephones with VM/Bluetooth, AM/FM alarm clock radio, iPod/iPhone dock stations, organic cotton blend bath towels, eco-friendly personal care amenities, microwave, refrigerator/freezer, in-room coffeemaker and iron/ironing board. * NO PETS ALLOWED. We have a strict no pet policy. We love animals, but maintain pet-free rooms. If a pet is found to have stayed in any of our rooms a 375USD deep cleaning fee will be assessed and eviction. * WE ARE A 100% SMOKE FREE PROPERTY. A 250USD minimum deep cleaning fee will be assessed for guest infractions and eviction. Check-in Instructions: * Max. occupancy per room: 1 adult only. * Min. guest/check-in age: 21. * Guests must show valid government-issued proof of identity and credit card at the time of check-in. * Check-in: after 3 PM. Early check-in is by request only and not guaranteed. 50USD early check-in fee applies. * Late check-in: after 10 PM. Guests planning to arrive after 10 PM must contact the property in advance to arrange for a late check-in. * Check-out: before 11 AM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Berbeda Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berbeda Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.