We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"go to our website for information"” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Berbeda Place

Berbeda Place
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Berbeda Place to your Saves list
Berbeda Place
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3339 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Palo Alto
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"go to our website for information"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I called this hotel to inquire about availability and rates for specific dates - I was told to go to the website! He said he could not tell me the rates - 'they are on the website; it changes for each week, so you need to look them up'; when I asked about proximity to Stanford University and what public transportation was available - I was again told to check the website . . . . nevermind, I don't need to pay for that kind of customer service.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    7
    2
    4
    7
See reviews for
1
1
12
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
SEATLE
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

I travel a few times a year to the Palo Alto Area, and after trying out different Places, I came up on Palo Alto Lodge On a Website. I was impressed for the first time that I walked into the office. The property is Nicely kept and great Location with no traffic noise. I noticed that the rooms have been recently remodeled, something thats always a plus when looking for somewhere clean and modern. Parking is plentiful and the lighting is not an issue. I have stayed in this property a couple of times, and so far I have no reasons to try somewhere else.

Room Tip: My preference is always Non-smoking with a king Bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

For the price, this was a terrific value. I recommended it to several friends, and I believe they'll be going there as well when they head down to the Palo Alto area in March. My room was clean, the staff was friendly, and I didn't have any complaints. A couple of other people have written on here that the rooms are "cozy," but mine seemed spacious enough. Enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

This family owned establishment has been freshly remodeled and is a wonderful place to stay. The owners are very friendly and passionate about providing great service. The rooms are cozy and stylish! The decor has an updated yet classic style that is simple, clean and welcoming. If you stay here you have to check out the huge plants next to the front office. The owners had it brought here from India and the flowers are amazing! They only bloom once in the very early morning hours but they are a sight to be seen.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised with my booking at this hotel, as the rooms and amenities were perfectly clean, well decorated and very up-to-date! It was a great value for the price. Our room was very clean, with great decor and a lot of room to store our things. Everyone was very friendly, and perfectly accommodating to all of our requests. Next time I'm in the area, I will definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: They have some really fun room types, so be sure to look at all of your options!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, CO
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

I booked 4 nights through Amex Business Travel, as it was the only hotel available, and the cancellation provisions were 1 nights R&T if cancelled within 2 days of arrival. I checked in, and went to my room. The sheets on the bed was pulled back and I found a USED CONDOM on the bed (yeach). I went to the front desk and "Mike" the desk clerk told me that housekeeping had left and that was the only room available. I asked for a refund of the other 3 nights and Mike told me that since I checked in, I was responsible for all 4 nights. I've stayed at close to 100 hotels over the years and never heard of such a thing.

I called Amex travel, and they tried talking to Mike, and they told me that he was "belligerent". I had them make me a reservation for those 4 nights at the Residence Inn, which had a last minute cancellation. I surrendered my key to Mike, and the total time I was at the hotel was less than 1 hour.

After I found that I had, indeed, been charged for 4 nights R&T, I escalated this with Amex Travel, and they tried calling the owner a few times and always got "Mike" who told them:

1. The owner was in India and would not be back for several months.
2. That I was not entitled to a refund as I had stayed one night, which Amex Travel told him was not correct as THEY had made the reservation at Residence Inn for the same 4 days.

After a few months of trying to work things out, I filed a merchant dispute, but lost the dispute because I had checked in, even though I was there for less than an hour, and that they cannot refund based on the "quality of service provided".

I have travelled to over 40 states and 14 countries, and this was THE WORSE customer service I have ever received and I ended up paying $380.80 (4 nights room and tax) which I can't, of course, expense, because I refused to sleep in a bed with a used condom in it.

Neither I nor Amex Travel were ever actually able to speak to the owner, and Mike was our single point of contact.

I understand that there will be problems, but what is telling is what a company does to make it right. Mike made no effort to make it right, or even cooperate or compromise. I was willing to pay one night R&T, but he charged me for all 4 nights, though I was at the hotel less than an hour.

Mike told me "What do you expect for $85"? I said "a room where the bed doesn't have a used condom in it"!

Room Tip: Inspect the room BEFORE you check in, but even if you do that, they may tell you that the room is &q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

I like to stay in "dives," but the room I had at this place was disgusting. It was the only hotel room I could find on the entire peninsula because the Stanford freshmen had arrived with their parents. The door wouldn't latch, let alone lock. I had to push the desk up against the door. All the furniture was 40 years old and broken. The TV was broken. The shower stall was moldy. The carpet was peeling away from the wall corners; it was dirty. The room smelled bad. The bed looked clean but, given the state of the rest of the unit, I was scared to death of bedbugs and only managed a few hours of sleep. If I hadn't already driven up and down the peninsula, called scores of hotels and had them call other hotels large and small, I would have left to find another room. Maybe they have other rooms which are in good repair and kept clean, but this was the only room they had and it was horrible. If I could give it a less-than-zero rating, I would.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Berbeda Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berbeda Place

Address: 3339 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Berbeda Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berbeda Place is a mid-century motor court built in the late 40's rehabilitated and refreshed into a quaint boutique with an ultra-modern and desert chic vibe located in the birthplace of Silicon Valley near world re-known Stanford University. Berbeda Place is the premier Silicon Valley motel that redefines the traditional 'motel' stay into a different and memorable experience for the solo traveler on the go. Inspired by everything old and new, our beautiful accommodations are well suited to exceed expectations of first time guests as well as repeat clients. You will be intrigued by our motel's unique design with distinctive architectural features and a Southern California style open-air layout! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Berbeda Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berbeda Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.