We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best caramel latte ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of University Cafe - CLOSED

University Cafe
271 University Ave, Palo Alto, CA 94301
(650) 322-5301
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Coffee Shop, Bakeries
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Redwood City, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best caramel latte ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for first time this morning. Best caramel latte I've ever had (and I've had many). Super blueberry muffin. Breakfast burritto was okay....the sausage inside ruined it. Ruben was extremely professional and gave great service!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    25
    7
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Malaga
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Nice Downtown Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I have not been in Downtown Palo Alto for many many years. We were taken to the University Cafe by a friend. They had a good menu and the atmosphere being a beautiful day was busy inside and out with business people, students, singles, couples and groups. Some were able to work on their computers during a lunch break, meetings and visits. The staff were helpful and fixed me a special dish as I have an eating disorder and it was very rich and tasty. We enjoyed the visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“reliable burger and coffee and meeting place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Everyone knows where university cafe is. The food is decent for a basic cafe. I like the pasta with chicken, the burgers aren't bad. Can be a good place to meet people because it's rarely full and the tables aren't too cramped. I've done interviews here, and that's been good. Serves decent wine to unwind at the end of the day.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Yummy!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Walking down town and not knowing where to get dinner we stopped at this indoor & outdoor restaurant and I have to say I ate the best Spaghetti & big meatballs I have ever eaten. The only strange thing was you get nothing with it,no salad or garlic bread. Service was good and sitting partly in and out was nice to be able to people watch which made for a great evening. The bill running around $35.00 for 2 of us. Parking is a issue downtown which is really crowded and neat place to visit. We were not disappointed in eating here.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Yummy breakfasts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

They have exceptional quality for the price. I love their eggs--great Mexican egg dish--spicy with sausage and veges. I even order their eggs for lunch so I can't tell you much about the other meals.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed University Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.