We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very authentic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Su Hong Eatery

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Su Hong Eatery
4256 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306
650-493-3836
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 273 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Restaurant details
Palo Alto, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

It's real Shanghai-nese food. It's not the same as Su Hong Menlo Park, so don't come expecting Americanized Chinese food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Not like the Chinese restaurants in the Midwest.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We went for my sister's mother-in-law's birthday, and there were 11 of us at dinner. Service was pretty good, and the food came pretty quickly.

My brother-in-law's family ordered a bunch of stuff and did family style, while my parents, boyfriend and I ordered our own meals. My boyfriend and I shared the sizzling rice soup, which was fabulous! I ordered vegetable egg foo young with no gravy. It was very different than what I'm used to. This was more like an omelette with green beans and onions in it, which tasted fine, but hardly seemed like I ordered from a Chinese restaurant. The dishes that this restaurant had were nothing like what we have at home, but everyone seemed to like their meals.

I gave it an average rating, only because of my main course, but I would go back and order something else if the opportunity came up again.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best General's Chicken Anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Whenever I travel to the Bay Area I always make it a point to visit Su Hong. They have the best General's Chicken I've ever had. I also really enjoy their Chinese Chicken Salad with finely chopped peanuts. Their food is great and the ingredients are very fresh.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

All of the food from Su Hong's is excellent. The prices are right and service is fast.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Authentic chinese food with good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

This is a fantastic chinese restaurant! Excellent chinese food - General Kao's special chicken, sweet and sour pork, noodles, etc. and also specialities like Shao Lon Bao (dumplings), fresh fish (try the fish fillets with string beans and broccoli), great vegetarian dishes (diced tofu and vegetables). The service is always really good - very responsive to requests, they are super friendly, and really nice to kids.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Su Hong Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Su Hong Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Su Hong Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.