We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast was amazing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joanie's Cafe

Joanie's Cafe
405 S California Ave, Palo Alto, CA 94306-1832
650-326-6505
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 318 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
377 reviews 377 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Breakfast was amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Two days for breakfast just to try more items - it was great!

Inspired: Susan was exceptionally helpful

Pro: location is ideal, crab meat omelet special, great service from entire staff

Con: nothing

Return: yes in a New York minute

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    37
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“good food, good location, kids like it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

There's always a wait it seems, but we've been lucky to get in right away. Our kids like it because of the atmosphere and the menu; we like it because of the same things.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Dire service puts damper on evening”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We'd booked a table for seven and from the outset, when no one brought a seventh chair, it was clear this wouldn't be straightforward. We fetched the chair. We then waited twenty minutes for the waitress to come and take an order for drinks. Tables around us were served their food and we had to prompt the waitress (when we could see her) for any service at all. She brought six meals, but completely forgot my husband's; we asked her for a beer and nothing happened. Two imaginary glasses of wine did appear on the menu, though, and she momentarily sought to insist we'd had them, when we hadn't. The food was average: tomatoes in the side salad were frozen; the salmon tasted good, but the plate was swimming in melted butter. As a group of friends, we had great fun, but this cafe wasn't worth the effort and we'll never go back. Go to Calafia instead, folks!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“convenient, pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

when did you last pay $11.50 for a grilled cheese sandwich with bacon and a tomato slice??? enough said!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breakfast is the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Locals meet here for breakfast and lunch. Just good food. Very generous portions. Not fancy, just down home good.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joanie's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Joanie's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joanie's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.