We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hunan Garden

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hunan Garden
3345 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306
(650) 565-8868
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hunan Garden is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 319 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Hunan
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have known the owner, Simon Yuan, for over 30 years. I first met him, and his family, at the Hunan Homes restaurant in San Francisco's China Town (also an excellent restaurant). Simon is not only a great friend, but an outstanding host. He is extremely personable, and will take the time to talk with you and your guests. His entire waitstaff is professional and friendly. The food is nothing short of outstanding. My favorties: Orange Peel Beef, Spicy Salted Spareribs, Beef with String Beans, Chicken with Sesame Garlic sauce, Honey Walnut Shrimp. The Hot & Sour soup is made with very fresh vegetables -- you can really taste the green onion and mushrooms! Simon designed Hunan Garden to be different than the typical Chinese Restaurant. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming, without those tacky printouts pasted to walls and windows listing menu items. This is a great place to take family, friends and business associates. The outdoor dining area is especially nice; it is covered and heated chilly evenings.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    8
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Simon says.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The boyishly and eternally young Simon will treat you to his classically and deliciously prepared Hunan cuisine at this vintage Palo Alto eatery. The salt and pepper fish is to die for as are his superb potstickers....We have never had a dish we did not like and we always appreciate his suggestions...Try it....you will like it as well as the reasonable prices!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have been enjoying the food at Hunan Garden for many years. It is a great place and my favorite Chinese Restaurant in the Bay area. Simon the owner host is one of the most pleasant and positive people you will e er meet. They serve a wide variety of cuisines from China and have wonderful dishes such as orange peel chicken, double mushroom shrimp and scallop, peking duck, etc.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Favorite Chinese restaurant around Palo Alto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

A great place to go!

The food is fabulous, the service prompt and friendly. VERY welcoming for children. And reasonably priced.

Ate here several times, and am sure to come again!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
736 reviews 736 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
392 helpful votes 392 helpful votes
“This was one of the best Chinese restaurants I've ever visited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

I ate here twice, once with about 30 colleagues and then the next night with my sister. The banquet in particular gave me the opportunity to sample many different dishes, and all were just fine. The hot and sour soup, which can be iffy at many restaurants, was also excellent. Sometimes banquets don't give you the opportunity to judge serving sizes when you visit as a normal customer, but when I returned the following night with my sister and we ordered the Mongolian chicken, chicken salad, and hot and sour soup, all came in large portions. Note that if a dish is marked as spicy, then they really mean it, and you may want to ask the waiter to tone down the spiciness a bit (though I loved it). When next in Palo Alto, I will make it a point to return.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunan Garden also viewed

Palo Alto, CA
Palo Alto, CA
 

Been to Hunan Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunan Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.