We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Budget Choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stanford Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Stanford Motor Inn to your Saves list
Stanford Motor Inn
3305 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Palo Alto
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Top Budget Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Let's face it, this isn't the Beverly Hills Hilton. The decorations, wall paintings outside and some even in the room are high kitsch at best or really tacky depending on your mood. But the place is clean, the rooms are outfitted with TV, DVD, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, iron, hair drier, and free wifi. Be warned that the free "breakfast" is two prepackaged sweet rolls and two juice boxes left in your refrigerator each day. The furnishings are nice and it is very clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are quiet. You can't do better for a low cost place to stay in this area.

Room Tip: Upper floor in the back is most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    15
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
3
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sonora, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We choose this Inn when the reservation clerk asked if we were coming to Palo Alto for Doctor appt at Stanford and were offered a reduced rate. Driving through the entry is a trip back to the days when hotels actually had a motor court. Grounds were cute, reminded me of old Italy. Walking into our room, my immediate impression was the carpet needed replacing and one of the bedspreads a little worn but the bathroom had been remodeled very nicely. Towels are the old style thin. Our room was a combination of old and new but it works.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

If you would like well-lit, well-maintained, super-staffed, easy access, under-$100 motel close to Stanford, the Stanford Motor Inn will fit the bill. My experience with telephone reservations was a delight, with the cheery desk clerk offering check-in "as early as you need." When I arrived in California and worked late at my client's, the hotel had held my room even without my explicit prior request.

Situated on El Camino Real, one of the 'main drags', one turns right from the west-bound lanes to enter the hotel's registration area and parking lot with plenty of spaces. The property looks like it was constructed in the 1950's and is maintained meticulously, initially most evident in its outdoor lighting and attractive greenery around the small swimming pool. The ice and soft-drink machines are just outside the lobby door. An easy check-in included a very nice touch: a large, free driving map of the area.

Courtyard parking means no room is far away from the car in this two-story edifice. Ascending the stairs one notices the trompe l'oeil flowers and wall murals which are abundant throughout the outside access areas. An electronic key gains entrance to the room whose dimensions are exactly what one would expect from a mid-20th-century motel. The short dimension of the room leaves two feet between the comfortable, firm king-sized bed and the dresser upon which the 32" CRT TV and DVD are mounted. The longer dimension leaves enough room for a pair of chairs, round table (with room-service options from local restaurants), and bedside dresser.

The surprise for me was the plethora of amenities: refrigerator (almost twice as big as a typical college dorm room unit), microwave, coffeemaker, two telephones, and iron + ironing board. Three dimensional trompe l'oeil flowers frame mirrors and towel racks. Granite (faux granite?) tiles cover the dressing and bathroom area in addition to forming an ample counter for the bathroom sink.

The room was absolutely immaculate, not a speck of dust or dirt. The heater/air conditioner appeared to be new and worked extremely effectively on a slightly chilly Palo Alto winter night. Wifi is very important to me. I had not one but two strong signal access points that offered reliable, high-speed, fast-connect service -- automatically connecting immediately upon powerup from sleep mode (perhaps the best wifi I've ever had in lodging).

My big complaint? I'd prefer feather pillow to the apparent foam-based pillow supplied on the bed.

If you're in the market for under-$100 motel-style lodging, it's hard to imagine goiing wrong at the Stanford Motor Inn.

Room Tip: Room 123 (second floor) had great wifi. Don't be afraid to range a mile or two up and down El...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

The rooms are nice and the rates are reasonable, but that's true of many small hotels. What sets the Stanford Motor Inn apart is their incredible service. I've only ever dealt with two people behind the front desk (and I've been here over 2 weeks now), and I've never had an interaction with either of them that was less than extraordinarily friendly. Even when I've had to bug them after midnight about stupid stuff, they've always responded immediately and effectively. Plus, there's plenty of parking even on a big football weekend, decently fast free WiFi, and the complimentary free pastries and juice boxes are a nice touch.

Two thumbs up.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

With my work relocation to Palo Alto my family and I have had nothing but "exceptional" service and accommodation during our stay. The staff really go out of their way to be helpful and make everything as comfortable as possible. The rooms are very clean, the staff very professional, friendly, service prompt. Great place to stay!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at the motel for approximately one week. The rooms were nice and clean and the service and hospitality was absolute great. I can definitely recommend the Stanford Motor Inn.
/Ken

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights, hotel is straightforward, simple, and worked fine for us. The thing that really impressed me, though, was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff throughout our stay. In particular, after we had left my daughter realized she'd left a necklace in the room; I called and the person at the desk went and searched the room carefully, but wasn't able to find it. I assumed it was lost, but then a week later a letter arrived at my house with it in - the staff had later found it and gone to the trouble to work out the owner and mail it back to us. Great service indeed, and it speaks volumes to the care the staff have for their guests.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanford Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Motor Inn

Address: 3305 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Stanford Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Motor Hotel Palo Alto
Stanford Hotel Palo Alto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanford Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.