We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid, Reliable Choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fish Market

The Fish Market
3150 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306
+1 650-493-9188
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 319 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Our first restaurant has been a Palo Alto institution since its doors opened in 1976. With the brand new addition of an oyster bar, cocktail bar and lounge area, there are now even more ways to experience this unique restaurant. The expansive retail market remains a popular stop for local residents seeking to take home the finest in fresh fish.
El Segundo
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Solid, Reliable Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I work nearby and go here a lot. Very good for both lunch and dinner. Food is very good and reasonably priced. The service is quick and friendly. The bar is fun at Happy Hour, and they have food and drink specials as well. Keep an eye on the clock as they end at 6:30pm, which is rather early. That said, you won`t be disappointed with the food or service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    107
    30
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“It was OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Dined here recently but can only give it a so-so rating. On the positive side the service was good, my cocktail was good, and the fishwife rice was very good. Unfortunately the john dory was overcooked and hence quite dry. Over cooked fish is not what I expect at a place that specializes in seafood. Based on this one visit, the location in Santa Clara is better.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Had a wonderful Cioppino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

When I first heard about the Cioppino fish soup, I decided to have a go at it. I'm Italian and there is a similar soup originally prepared in Livorno (Tuscany).

The soup was delicious and I was back at this restaurant after a few months when I was in the area again. I love it!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

the service was great. I went with my boss and we all enjoyed it. The salmon was not as good as the shrimps though, so I suggest you to not get the salmon.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great for groups, fresh seafood and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I went with a work group and the service was quick and accurate. We got fresh seafood that tasted great. They can accommodate large groups. The sour dough was fresh and warm, love it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to The Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.