We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish Market Restaurant Palo Alto, CA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fish Market

The Fish Market
3150 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306
+1 650-493-9188
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 317 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Our first restaurant has been a Palo Alto institution since its doors opened in 1976. With the brand new addition of an oyster bar, cocktail bar and lounge area, there are now even more ways to experience this unique restaurant. The expansive retail market remains a popular stop for local residents seeking to take home the finest in fresh fish.
San Antonio
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fish Market Restaurant Palo Alto, CA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The food is excellent. Portions for me though are a bit small. The staff is friendly and the areas is clean.
One bad, the tarter sauce has a bit too much garlic.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    104
    29
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

I dont get the hype about fish market. Myfriends from colorado slways want to go. Its ok, but nithing great. There are lots of fish places that do a better job. I guess its like the starbucks of fish restaurants. You know it is ok, but nothing to write home about.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Altos, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“fresh, friendly standby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Unfortunately, I no longer live in a coastal area. So, the Fish Market is a go-to place for great, fresh seafood and amazing sourdough!
Nice service, unassuming staff and set up.
Parking can be a challange, but if it is that full, probably a long wait.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had the scallop appetizer, which was delicious. My husband had the catfish and I had the Washington oysters. Everything was delicious. We both had drinks. No room for dessert. Great date night.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place to eat at the bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I was in the mood for fresh crab. I was somewhat disappointed, but it was not bad. Again, this is an old standby eating establishment from former days of living in that area.
Good Italian pinot by the glass at a reasonable price.
Great people watching too

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to The Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.