We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish Market Restaurant Palo Alto, CA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fish Market

The Fish Market
3150 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306
650 493 9188
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 316 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fish Market Restaurant Palo Alto, CA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The food is excellent. Portions for me though are a bit small. The staff is friendly and the areas is clean.
One bad, the tarter sauce has a bit too much garlic.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    69
    88
    20
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

I dont get the hype about fish market. Myfriends from colorado slways want to go. Its ok, but nithing great. There are lots of fish places that do a better job. I guess its like the starbucks of fish restaurants. You know it is ok, but nothing to write home about.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Altos, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“fresh, friendly standby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Unfortunately, I no longer live in a coastal area. So, the Fish Market is a go-to place for great, fresh seafood and amazing sourdough!
Nice service, unassuming staff and set up.
Parking can be a challange, but if it is that full, probably a long wait.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had the scallop appetizer, which was delicious. My husband had the catfish and I had the Washington oysters. Everything was delicious. We both had drinks. No room for dessert. Great date night.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place to eat at the bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I was in the mood for fresh crab. I was somewhat disappointed, but it was not bad. Again, this is an old standby eating establishment from former days of living in that area.
Good Italian pinot by the glass at a reasonable price.
Great people watching too

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to The Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.