We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish Market Restaurant Palo Alto, CA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fish Market

The Fish Market
3150 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306
+1 650-493-9188
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 337 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our first restaurant has been a Palo Alto institution since its doors opened in 1976. With the brand new addition of an oyster bar, cocktail bar and lounge area, there are now even more ways to experience this unique restaurant. The expansive retail market remains a popular stop for local residents seeking to take home the finest in fresh fish.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
145 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fish Market Restaurant Palo Alto, CA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The food is excellent. Portions for me though are a bit small. The staff is friendly and the areas is clean.
One bad, the tarter sauce has a bit too much garlic.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RVSVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

I dont get the hype about fish market. Myfriends from colorado slways want to go. Its ok, but nithing great. There are lots of fish places that do a better job. I guess its like the starbucks of fish restaurants. You know it is ok, but nothing to write home about.

Helpful?
Thank Aussie_Alien
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“fresh, friendly standby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Unfortunately, I no longer live in a coastal area. So, the Fish Market is a go-to place for great, fresh seafood and amazing sourdough!
Nice service, unassuming staff and set up.
Parking can be a challange, but if it is that full, probably a long wait.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank beckw925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had the scallop appetizer, which was delicious. My husband had the catfish and I had the Washington oysters. Everything was delicious. We both had drinks. No room for dessert. Great date night.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eskape96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place to eat at the bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I was in the mood for fresh crab. I was somewhat disappointed, but it was not bad. Again, this is an old standby eating establishment from former days of living in that area.
Good Italian pinot by the glass at a reasonable price.
Great people watching too

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to The Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing