We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old Court House standby” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Pro Bono

Cafe Pro Bono
2437 Birch St, Palo Alto, CA 94306-1902
650-326-1626
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Pro Bono is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #77 of 313 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Price range: $30 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: California Ave
Palo Alto, CA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“An old Court House standby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Cafe Pro Bono changed ownership several years ago, but the food and service have remained high quality. My friend had the Susan's Downfall (ravioli) and was not disappointed, the waiter was very attentive to our needs, and the desserts finished the meal perfectly. Though the restaurant was busy for lunch, we were still able to hold a conversation without shouting!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Italian food you can eat...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Being Italian, I've sort of given up on getting anything near decent in a restaurant, but I eat here on a very regular basis. The pasta's are good and everything is prepared fresh, or so it seems to me. The waiters are very accommodating and actually remember you if you've been in before. Every so often I see someone famous in there, a surprise for such an unassuming looking place, but there you go.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Intimate environment, devoted management & staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Cafe Pro Bono gets its name from the North County (Santa Clara County) Courthouse across the street. The owner-management team is largely from Turkey, complete with the warm, welcoming graciousness of many locals I met in Istanbul. The Cafe serves a Mediterranean menu, prepared by the former Chef at the former, well-regarded Bistro Elan, also in Palo Alto. In addition, there are always at least two specials in addition to the regular menu with many choices of salads, pastas, seafood, veal and lamb. The Cafe has a full bar and an extensive wine list. Most certainly,, you will be warmly welcomed there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Delightful lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Three of us had lunch for the first time at Cafe Pro Bono and were very pleased. I ordered the Mediterranean salad with grille calamari strips and was delighted to find that the calamari wasn't breaded but consisted of quite a few tender, meaty strips.The quantity was just right for lunch. I'm so tired of restaurants that aim to please by serving large quantities of poor quality food. Not the case here. My lunch partners ordered the grilled chicken breast sandwich, which was served in a flaky, fresh, tasty pastry, and was accompanied by a side salad. We didn't have wine, as one of our diners had to return to work. The service was excellent, and the setting was classy, with white tablecloths and napkins. We got there right after 11 AM before the lunch rush crowd, so it was neither noisy nor crowded, but we do hear that it fills up fast. We'd highly recommend Cafe Pro Bono..

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near San Francisco
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“We had a great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The food was wonderful, the atmosphere charming, the waitstaff attentive and cheerful. the food was tasty and inventive but not alarmingly so.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Pro Bono also viewed

Palo Alto, CA
Palo Alto, CA
 

Been to Cafe Pro Bono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Pro Bono, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.