We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everybody's Happy Here!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palo Alto Creamery Fountain & Grill

Palo Alto Creamery Fountain & Grill
566 Emerson St, Palo Alto, CA 94301-1607
(650) 323-3131
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 313 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Diner, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night, Street Food
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: University Ave
Transit: VTA 35, Caltrain
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Everybody's Happy Here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is comfort food with a traditional diner feel. You can get breakfast all day, but they also have some more ambitious menu items/specials if you don't want a burger or chili or mac and cheese. My husband had the pasta special with shrimp and veggies and practically licked his plate clean. My daughter had the BBQ pork shoulder and it was tender and the grilled cornbread was delicious. The staff is friendly and attentive, and should you save room, the desserts are fabulous. This a favorite spot so be prepared to wait for a table if you go at peak meal times. But well worth it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    62
    17
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“best breakfast ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Pancakes, waffles, omelettes, brioche french toast served with hot maple syrup... All wonderful, but we got addicted too to their poached eggs, hash browns, sausages and bacon, served with whole wheat toast. The strawberry and rhubarb latticed pie is a work of genius, and their apple pie too is probably world-famous: lots and lots of apples in it, and just the right amount of cinnamon. For a birthday party, we purchased their Double Danger chocolate cake which was just delicious and amazingly tall. It weighs a ton!
Most of all, what we noticed was that everybody seemed to be getting whatever they wanted there, and it all looked good. The staff are lovely - fast, friendly, and conscientious. I just wish I still lived nearby and could go there every day!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Fun, comfort food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Whenever I go there I feel like I'm on Happy Days. Great burgers, the best malteds in the whole world, great eggs...just great, simple food. No frills, not the place to go to impress...the place to go to have consistently delicious food the way it used to be. Never had a meal I did not enjoy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Haute Cuisine it ain't”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

It's a step back in time when food tasted like food. A burger n' fries, an American breakfast, meatloaf! Mamma Mia! When you want to impress your taste-buds and not a client or in-laws, your tummy will be happy. It will say, Thank You Sport! No duck confit, or foam anything! This is real food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

A busy place, bright and cheerful. The beef ribs were marinated and cooked to a lovely texture and flavour. The strawberry milkshake was yummy. Service was attentive and came with great smiles.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palo Alto Creamery Fountain & Grill also viewed

 
Palo Alto, CA
Palo Alto, CA
 

Been to Palo Alto Creamery Fountain & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palo Alto Creamery Fountain & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.