We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky but nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palo Alto Creamery Fountain & Grill

Palo Alto Creamery Fountain & Grill
566 Emerson St, Palo Alto, CA 94301-1607
(650) 323-3131
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 313 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Diner, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night, Street Food
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: University Ave
Transit: VTA 35, Caltrain
Stanford, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Funky but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Very unique place in town. Love the ambience from the 60s, food always good. Perfect to take kids for breakfast on weekends. Milkshakes are very nice.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    62
    17
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
US
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“A diner on the corner in downtown Paly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The booths are nice but the lunch counter is a trip, everyone chatting and trying to find space for their food and the morning Chron. The great hearty breakfasts (corn beef hash is excellent) are worth coming here. Lunch is also fine, good sandwiches and burgers. The help are friendly and fast. I (personally) would avoid the sister shop in the mall; do the one downtown. Take away cakes and pies are also well appreciated if you have a student in a dorm. Have eaten here numerous times over the years and always find it comfort food.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton Harbor, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Visiting the area & stopped in for dessert...the place is like an old 50's diner and the food is great...the next day we stopped in for a prim rib sandwich which was the special of the day...absolutely excellent!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waupaca, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great shake and desserts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I had a chocolate milk shake with peanut butter in it. Very creamy and about three glasses worth of shake as they give you a glass plus the metal container they prepared it in. My wife had a piece of apple pie, which was very tasty. (She shared.) Our young friend had a piece of chocolate truffle bread pudding, which was sinfully good!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, worth the wait on a Sunday morning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Good stuff - we elected to come down to Palo Alto from SF for breakfast and a trip to Stanford - glad we found this place! The Wife had breakfast, eggs, potatoes and a bagel. I had a French Dip and some hash browned potatoes, a great combination. We also split a Mint Oreo shake, kind of a splurge but it was also very, very good. We had to wait 15 or so minutes, but when we sat down, someone got right to us. Service was good, although not outstanding. The place does have character and charm, like an old-fashioned parlor, as other people here have mentioned. If I were back in Palo Alto and hungry for breakfast, this place would be on my short list.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palo Alto Creamery Fountain & Grill also viewed

 
Palo Alto, CA
Palo Alto, CA
 

Been to Palo Alto Creamery Fountain & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palo Alto Creamery Fountain & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.