We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Welcoming Brunch Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Michael's Alley

St. Michael's Alley
140 Homer Avenue, Palo Alto, CA 94301
(650) 326-2530
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #8 of 313 restaurants in Palo Alto
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, French, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Burlingame, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Welcoming Brunch Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My son discovered this gem and with my other son, we had brunch there ... and we were all pleasantly glad to have found this place! It is not in a noisy commercial place, there was outdoor sitting and nice inteior atmosphere. Service was great as we were told there was 30 min wait but we actually got seated right away. Street parking was easy. We had a carafe of Mimosa -- which was a carafe of orange juice and a whole bottle of champagne and you mix it yourself - we all left happy!! We each had a different dish so we got to try each other's food so I can say that food is all great! We agreed that it is a place we will visit again - next time will be dinner!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    38
    17
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always A Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

St. Mike's is our perennial date place for the past decade. We love the food, the atmosphere, the service and the owners. They come out with a new menu every quarter (in addition to their daily specials) and it's always good.

This isn't a cheap restaurant, and we generally just go here for dates and out-of-town guests. But when people want a recommendation on a great restaurant in Palo Alto, this is easily the first one on our list.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Way overrated though service was A+”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Can't say enough about the top quality of the service. The staff had a perfect sense for timing and was thoroughly professional and warm.

However, the food was quite marginal (cold Somosa appetizer, mediocre organic green salad, tough New York steak though sauce was ok). Wine list was good.

We sat in the front room as the dining room was full. The booth in the front room was a good idea but it was too tight for two 6 foot men.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphys, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to eat and drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have been to St. Michael's Alley about five times. We found it by mistake. What a wonderful find. The food was amazing, the people were even more than amazing.

The first time we were there my wife had just finished her appointment for stomach cancer at Stanford. We wanted to eat, but given her condition she was not very hungry. We decided to split a meal and apologized to the waiter for ordering only one meal. We gave him a thumb nail sketch of what had happened. Well the staff treated my wife and I like gold. Their treatment of her made a crummy day much better.

While my wife was in Stanford hospital (72 days the first time and at least 2 more total months over the next 8 months) we went to the Alley many times. Every time was a fantastic experience. I brought friends with me to the restaurant and it quickly became one of their favorite places to eat in Palo Alto.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Simply elegant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

When I last ate there it was a small elegant restaurant. It has moved and is bigger. But the food and experience are simply elegant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Michael's Alley also viewed

Palo Alto, CA
Palo Alto, CA
 

Been to St. Michael's Alley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Michael's Alley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.