We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply elegant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Michael's Alley

St. Michael's Alley
140 Homer Avenue, Palo Alto, CA 94301
(650) 326-2530
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 313 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, French, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Simply elegant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

When I last ate there it was a small elegant restaurant. It has moved and is bigger. But the food and experience are simply elegant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    20
    15
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I found St Michael's Alley on Trip Advisor and most of the reviews were about their wonderful brunch. Well, I had the most wonderful dinner there! My husband and I came up for one night to celebrate my son's 21st birthday and I feel like we hit the jack pot! The place is adorable, the hostess and waiter were so friendly. The food awesome. Seating is both inside and outside.
A hidden gem!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Brunch in PA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

One of Palo Alto's best brunch spots, period. Good variety of all the brunch staples. Good service too.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Guaranteed Great Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have been to St. Michael's Alley many times over the years. This is one of my favorite places in Palo Alto. Everything about the restaurant is top notch: the food, the drinks, the extensive wine and beer list, the attentive service and the desserts you hope you saved room for. The ambiance is warm and inviting, both in the restaurant and the bar area, and there is a limited amount of outside dining as well. The price is quite reasonable for the quality of the experience. This is the place where we take out of town guests to impress them and ourselves as a treat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent meal with excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Just arrived in Palo Alto to visit family, and they chose this restaurant for an early dinner at the start of the weekend, and it was an excellent experience. The service was prompt and thoughtful, with an interesting selection of cocktails which apparently changes daily. The menu was eclectic and delicious, with subtle attention to refilling drinks and the bread basket. We had an early, 6 pm booking, and the restaurant was already more than half-full but was not too noisy and tables were spread apart. All the courses were appreciated, particularly a chocolate bread pudding dessert - memorable!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Michael's Alley also viewed

 

Been to St. Michael's Alley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Michael's Alley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.