We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great decor and service......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Hamilton Avenue, Palo Alto, CA 94301   |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% Off
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Palo Alto
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tucson. az
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great decor and service......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed four nights at the new Palo Alto Epiphany Hotel while visiting friends and attending a wedding . The service was excellent and friendly by everyone that worked at the hotel . The rooms were beautiful, beds comfortable, towels plush and lovely shower and shampoo products.
Only thing I would change would be the lighting in the bathroom it is not great for putting on makeup . .
Also if you are not interested in lots of noise ,do not get a room facing Hamilton..garbage trucks every morning.street and restaurant noise each evening.
I would stay again anytime visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenzMaurer, General Manager at The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear TucsonAmigo,

Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay at the Epiphany Hotel. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will make sure to share your valuable feedback with the entire team.

I'm looking forward to welcome you back in the very near future!

Kindest regards,

Lorenz Maurer
General Manager
650 666 3330
lmaurer@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    24
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
20
6
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Horseshoe Bay, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights while visiting our son and his family. Nice rooms and great service. Great location. Did not get a chance to try restaurant. It would have been a great place for a longer stay. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenzMaurer, General Manager at The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Joe H,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We very much appreciate your feedback and I will make sure to share your kind words with the entire staff.

I'm looking forward to welcome you back to the Epiphany Hotel in the very near future!

Kindest regards,

Lorenz Maurer
General Manager
650 666 3330
lmaurer@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Just returned in Europe after 2 weeks at the Epiphany.
If you have to spend 2 weeks away from home for business, staying all the time in the same hotel it can really become very boring, believe me. So I think it's fair to say I gave the Epiphany a good stress test.

The first great thing about the hotel is the design. You can tell they put a lot of thought into it. There are many different original design details everywhere in the hotel, especially with the lighting, which helps set the tone. The colors and wallpaper used in the rooms also help a lot to never get the feeling of a dark or cramped room. Combine this with a very quiet room and a comfortable bed and every night it's a good nights rest.

The bar and restaurant also help to keep the Epiphany very lively. Also here they have studied things well. Because since the bar and restaurant are facing the street and highly visible it changes very much the feel and vibe of the hotel. Instead of the usual hotels with a revolving door leading to a silent lobby and a deserted bar and not visible restaurant at the Epiphany instead there is a constant coming and going of people from the early afternoon until late at night. Pretty clear that the bar is quite popular in Palo Alto. And no, this does not mean any problems with noise.

And then there is the staff and management. A young, experienced, management with attention to detail. And all the staff, from front desk to bar/restaurant to valet service are always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenzMaurer, General Manager at The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Christiaan R,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. I'm glad to hear you had a great two week stay with us. I will make sure to share your kind words with the entire team and do hope to be able to welcome you back to the Epiphany in the very near future!

Kindest regards,

Lorenz Maurer
General Manager
650 666 3330
lmaurer@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I had a nice stay at this hotel. The room was quiet and very comfortable. Everything was stylish. Perfect location. Restaurant and bar delicious and fun. The majority of people working there are lovely - solicitous and charming. I was planing to give this hotel 4.5 stars, with my only two small issues being that the light was poor in the bathroom, making it difficult to apply makeup; and since there is only one elevator it could be slow. However, the rest of the experience was stellar.

I had a 6:30 am flight out of town so I asked the valet the evening before to have my car ready at 4:45 am. No problem! I was told. We will write that down! I asked, are you sure I should not text just in case? No problem, we are writing it down this minute! Don't worry! Big, convincing smiles from the evening valet guys.

The next morning I get down to the front desk at 4:40 am and look outside. There is a couple making out up against the wall - that was awkward, but no car. I ask the person at the front desk where the valet might be, could they be getting my car? The front desk clerk says nothing but scurries into the restaurant. A man comes out, in no apparent rush, scrolling through the texts on his phone. Looks up at me and asks me to give him a minute. I wait. He keeps scrolling. After a minute of this I point out I need to get to the airport, can someone get my car? Apparently not worried, the valet keeps scrolling through his text messages. The disheveled woman who had been part of the couple in the romantic clutch outside skulks up the stairs to her room. I continue to wait. The valet finally looks up and says, "Its not here." Trying to keep my cool, I pointed out I need my car ASAP. He offers to run and get it as it will only take a few minutes, his car is right out front. I said,"I NEED TO CATCH A FLIGHT." Then I took a deep breath and asked him to drive me to where my car was.

I think that woke him up to the fact I was in a rush. The valet then pulled it together and got me to my car. I tipped him - my car not being ready was not his fault - and went on my way. I made my flight, thankfully, but only just at the last minute and it was an unnecessarily stressful way to start the day.

Based on this experience I took off two stars. I appreciate the great service all of the people there gave me. I share this review so the hotel management realize that charming waiters are delightful, but the details matter. If your valet says they are writing down I need my car at a certain time please follow through. Getting that right means more to me than someone turning up at my door unrequested asking me if I was comfortable.

Would I stay here again? Not sure. It was lovely but very expensive, and my experience this morning was frustrating and unprofessional. If I do stay, I will not be renting a car and using the valet.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenzMaurer, General Manager at The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Marlena,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. First off I would like to apologize for the mix up with your car. I certainly understand how stressful this is at 5 am in the morning. I'm glad to hear you were able to make the flight. Your feedback will help us to make sure this will never happen again. We were able to make a few modifications to our overnight Valet process thanks to your comments.

I would also like to thank you for the nice words regarding your hotel stay. I will make sure to share this feedback with my team.

I know our Assistant General Manager reached out to you directly, but please let me know if there is anything else I can assist you with.

Kindest regards,

Lorenz Maurer
General Manager
650 666 3330
lmaurer@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed for one brief night at the Epiphany about a week after it opened as we needed somewhere not too far from SFO after a late arrival and had a lovely experience. The staff was extremely pleasant and having been open only for a week, they seemed to have worked out a majority of the kinks. The rooms were very pleasantly and comfortably appointed - very modern, so lots of great technology, plugs in all the right places, etc. Linens were nice and there are Malin & Goetz products in the bathrooms, along with a Nespresso machine. We also had an opportunity to order room service, which was good (not great) and also got to spend time at the fitness facility that hotel guests have access to, which is a real health club across the street (i.e., bigger than a typical hotel gym). I had asked for extra pillows in advance because I was 6 months pregnant at the time, and I arrived to a very kind note congratulating me, macarons, and a tub of Burt's Bees body butter! Clearly above and beyond. I hope that this hotel is able to maintain its quaint nature as it becomes more popular and widely used as I would certainly stay there again in a heartbeat assuming the price is still right.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenzMaurer, General Manager at The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear amznyc,

Thank you so much for being one of our first guests and for taking the time to write about it on Tripadvisor! I will make sure to share your feedback with the entire staff and do hope to welcome you back to the Epiphany in the very near future!

Best regards,

Lorenz Maurer
General Manager
650 666 3330
lmaurer@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed 3 nights and never heard a sound from any adjoining rooms. The room has a wonderful bed that made it hard to leave. The location is excellent and the decor is very cool. We didn't try the restaurant attached, but it was always busy so it must be good. What a nice hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenzMaurer, General Manager at The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Nobellhops,

Thank you for taking the time to post on Tripadvisor. We very much appreciate your feedback. Great to hear that our hotel is very quiet while being in the middle of downtown. We invested in a great sliding door/window system which gives you access to our balconies while at the same time cancel out noise from the outside.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the very near future and I'm hoping you will have a chance to try our Restaurant Lure + Till.

Kindest regards,

Lorenz Maurer
General Manager
650 666 3330
lmaurer@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

In the heart of Palo Alto, close to Stanford, yet at the same time a cocooning hotel room that makes one think of weekends at Granma's though in a much more comfortable context.. It is as if the shadowy fuzzy images of wallpaper birds come to life at sunrise and sunset with borrowed birdsong from the real world. The rustic wood panelling and shadowy fuzzy tree images on the carpet transport one to the country and yet when the double glazed balcony doors are open Palo Alto beckons with its cacophony of offerings. The hotel staff live up to the joie de vivre label and everything is made easy for the traveller. Sitting at breakfast warmed by overhead heaters watching the world go by on Hamilton is a perfect way to start the day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenzMaurer, General Manager at The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Peripateticce,

I very much enjoyed reading your review - thank you so much for taking the time. I'm glad you liked our downtown location as well as the decor. It's really a great privilege to have such a great location in our fantastic town!

Kindest regards,

Lorenz Maurer
General Manager
650 666-3330
lmaurer@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 180 Hamilton Avenue, Palo Alto, CA 94301
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get wired. In the heart of downtown Palo Alto, surrounded by the hottest VC firms, the fastest-growing companies, plus the creative dynamism of Stanford University - this is where you need to be staying.Modern, yet warm. Organic, yet tech-savvy. Wired, yet easygoing. Innovative, with a hint of whimsy. The 86 rooms at Epiphany- featuring 18 Deluxe Queen/Queens, Premium Suites, and 4 Hospitality Suites - let you recharge while staying connected to it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Odigeo, Priceline, Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.