We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Neighborhood Find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Elephant Gourmet

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Green Elephant Gourmet
3950 Middlefield Rd, Palo Alto, CA 94303
650-494-7391
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 314 restaurants in Palo Alto
Price range: $10 - $30
Restaurant details
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

With a mix of both Burmese and Chinese food, Green Elephant delivers all around. From the friendly greeting when you walk in the door to the gracious servers and delicious food, Green Elephant is worth visiting. We've tried food from both the Burmese and Chinese sections and have not been disappointed in anything. We've even asked for off-menu options, and they have been very kind to accommodate. The prices are reasonable, and the service is quick.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    5
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Burmese food, the Chinese food is average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We like their Burmese curries, but the Chinese food is heavy, too much grease, vegetables are flacid--just not worth going for now. The Tea Leaf salad is yummy, though I wish they would add a darker lettuce as well as the iceberg kind. A bit overdecorated, but pretty, and the waitresses are nice.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful little restaurant with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is a little treasure, hidden away in a strip mall. The food is fantastic. We love to eat here. The sesame crispy beef is our favorite dish -- so totally yummy. You get a nice selection of Burmese and Chinese food, depending on what suits your fancy. Nice atmosphere, reasonable pricing, good for couples, families.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdwarriorcal
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good place to go for Burmese and Chinese with a Burmese accent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We've been to the Green Elephant several times in the past and have told our friends how much we have enjoyed it. Now they have a gluten free menu, and they confirm what is in the food.

The prices are fair, especially for Palo Alto, the service is quick and friendly, and the portions are ample. There were four in our party for lunch and we all left happy and well fed, including my vegetarian spouse who ordered something that was not quite on the menu. The kitchen was very accommodating.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“burmese/chinese in neighborhood restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Warm owners and staff welcome diners to enjoy delicious Burmese and Chinese dishes. Fruity Nutty Chicken, Coconut Chicken soup with noodles, pumpkin curry and tea leaf salad are favorites.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Elephant Gourmet also viewed

Palo Alto, CA
Palo Alto, CA
 

Been to Green Elephant Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Elephant Gourmet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.