We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good pizza in the bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terun

Terun
448 South California Avenue, Palo Alto, CA 94306
6506008310
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 325 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very good pizza in the bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

If you are searching for a real pizza, a very good one you are in the right pizza. Nothing to do with New York or Chicago style, they don't put pinapple on the pizza, bujt they do the pizza in the proper way, the same way it has been done in Italy for 500 years. Believe me, I was born few kilometers from Naples and lived there till I was 25 years ols and I know how the real pizza looks like. Furthermore the owners are very nice and the environment very friendly. really worth to try it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    28
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“A Nice Addition to California Avenue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We visited Terrone on a Sunday evening to have dinner with friends. There were 7 of us in our party and we were seated on the patio at the rear of the restaurant. It isn't fancy, but it is pleasant to sit outside on a warm evening. There were two other large groups 10+ that were seated on the patio at approximately the same time, which did seem to impact service. Our waiter was friendly and helpful, but if felt like he and the other staff were racing to serve us. When food came out, there was no attempt to deliver it to the appropriate person; the waiter just stood at the end of the table and said "Who had the steak? Who had the fish?" The meals mostly came together, but there was a "straggler" at each course. The food itself was good. My husband and I had the steak which is a huge portion served with a salad and fries. The fries are super thin cut which can be good if they are really hot. My son ordered pasta and got what appeared to be an appetizer portion. Our friends ordered pizza which looked delicious - very thin crust and could be shared by two with moderate appetites. Big eaters should get their own. We tried a number of desserts including the torte, the mousse, and the Creme Brulee. All were good and reasonable sized portions. Again, two moderate appetites could share, but big eaters (teens) will want per person. There is a good sized wine and beer list, and also of note, bar drinks including some Italian style speciality drinks. I would definitely return and try some other menu options, as the food was on the whole well prepared and it is a pleasant spot. Hope they can work out the kinks in service over time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Casual Italian Dining with Gourmet Flavors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Thanks to a friend's recommendation, we discovered a wonderful Italian restaurant on California Avenue in Palo Alto.

The food was light, flavorful, and interesting. We especially enjoyed the explosion of flavors in the Carmel Gelato with Sea Salt and Olive Oil dessert -- a clearly GREAT dish.

We also enjoyed the very, very, very thin crust pizza. On a hot day like today the Pear pizza with pear slices beautifully balanced with gorganzolla cheese was a favorite, as was our 2nd pizza topped with cold Mozarella cheese and arugula.

The atmosphere was casual and comfortable with a comfortable noise level and attentive and knowledgable server.

A HIGH RECOMMENDATION FOR DATE NIGHT OR DINNER WITH FRIENDS!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Atmosphere, Location, Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is my idea of a great little restaurant. Owned by three brothers from southern Italy, two of which run the place and an Italian chef The high point of this place are the owners who are very hospitable.The space is also very modern, hip and the food is very good (not fantastic). The menu is very simple which suits me fine. I have have been there many times and go for the vibe, and hospitality as much as the food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Comfortable Neighborhood Trattoria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The menu and wine list are not overly extensive, but are very creative, balanced and well priced. They always have a selection of interesting "upmarket" pizzas and several pasta and fish specials. The outdoor patio is unusually large and very comfortable - even on chilly Palo Alto evenings.

Terrone is an excellent choice for friends and family groups that want a very good meal, with a good wine list, in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere, where the service is good, but not pushy and the prices are moderate enough that you will plan to return soon.

Meet your friends there for a great evening without breaking your budget!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terun also viewed

 

Been to Terun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.