We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast was amazing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joanie's Cafe

Joanie's Cafe
447 S California Ave, Palo Alto, CA 94306-1832
650-326-6505
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 314 restaurants in Palo Alto
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen, French, Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Breakfast was amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Two days for breakfast just to try more items - it was great!

Inspired: Susan was exceptionally helpful

Pro: location is ideal, crab meat omelet special, great service from entire staff

Con: nothing

Return: yes in a New York minute

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    25
    29
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“good food, good location, kids like it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

There's always a wait it seems, but we've been lucky to get in right away. Our kids like it because of the atmosphere and the menu; we like it because of the same things.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Dire service puts damper on evening”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We'd booked a table for seven and from the outset, when no one brought a seventh chair, it was clear this wouldn't be straightforward. We fetched the chair. We then waited twenty minutes for the waitress to come and take an order for drinks. Tables around us were served their food and we had to prompt the waitress (when we could see her) for any service at all. She brought six meals, but completely forgot my husband's; we asked her for a beer and nothing happened. Two imaginary glasses of wine did appear on the menu, though, and she momentarily sought to insist we'd had them, when we hadn't. The food was average: tomatoes in the side salad were frozen; the salmon tasted good, but the plate was swimming in melted butter. As a group of friends, we had great fun, but this cafe wasn't worth the effort and we'll never go back. Go to Calafia instead, folks!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“convenient, pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

when did you last pay $11.50 for a grilled cheese sandwich with bacon and a tomato slice??? enough said!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breakfast is the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Locals meet here for breakfast and lunch. Just good food. Very generous portions. Not fancy, just down home good.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joanie's Cafe also viewed

 
Palo Alto, CA
Palo Alto, CA

Been to Joanie's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joanie's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.