We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bread” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Fornaio

Il Fornaio
520 Cowper St, Palo Alto, CA 94301-1823
650-853-3888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Fornaio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 313 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Bakery, Italian, Café, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hamilton
Transit: Cal Train
Redwood City, CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great bread”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Food and service is very good. wonderful selection of breads. Good environment. Easy to converse for business or pleasure

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    55
    31
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous Lasagna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

When I was a college student, I spent six months studying in Florence, Italy. Il Fornaio's lasagna is the closest I have come to finding lasagna in the USA that compares with the one I loved in Italy.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cernusco sul Naviglio, Italy
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Dinner at Palo Alto”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The appetizer and the main dish was really good, the only concern was that they put our group (36 person) in a small part in the back of the restaurant so it was so noisy. Also as I heard since I didn't pay, the cost of the dinner was really high (100$ x person) and I think it is really too much for a normal dinner - also because there was a preorder food with one appetizer, one main dish and one dessert.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A must when in Palo Alto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Every time I'm in Palo Alto I try to eat here. Good food, great service and a lot of "buzz". Great for breakfast too. Not always easy to get a table, so plan ahead if possible. Good selection of wines too. A must.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Classy but unpretentious; good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Ultimately a bakery expanded into an extremely popular coffee house/bar and restaurant in Palo Alto, this is a very lovely relaxing Italian atmosphere. You can sit outside and have a latte; you can pick up a loaf of bread. You can lunch or dine. You can sit at the bar and watch the game. This is a real Palo Alto neighborhood place with very well behaved friendly people. It is a bit pricey but not if you just have lattes.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Fornaio also viewed

Palo Alto, CA
Palo Alto, CA
 

Been to Il Fornaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Fornaio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.