We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for food and big beers.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nola

Nola
535 Ramona St, Palo Alto, CA 94301
650-328-2722
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Nola is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #60 of 319 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hamilton
Transit: CalTrans Palo Alto. And a late night cab stand on the weekends.
Description: Nola will transport you into the heart of the Quarter! Authentic folk art and the largest Hurricanes in town will get you ready for a bayou blowout.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great place for food and big beers.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I've been here three or four times over the last few weeks, and every time has been great. The menu is really good fun, the beers are huge and the food does not disappoint. I'd recommend Mr T's Terikayi Skirt Steak - wow that tastes good. Another highlight was the jalapeno corn bread, which is delicious, but very filling so best shared. My boss tried the spicy penne pasta caliente style, which was definitley too hot for most, but he seemed to enjoy it.

Looking forward to going back again next time I'm downtown.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    53
    22
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Better than it has any right to be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

So many restaurants try new orleans. It's a party atmosphere, the food's good, but if you've been to NO, the reality is different. Especially in Palo Alto, you'd expect a pale imitation.

NOLA is an imitation, but it's a good imitation. The place has stuck around enough that it's generating a real patina, and the food has only gotten better. The marinated skirt steak is great, the burgers are good, and the Jambalaya is the best I know of in the bay area.

The mai tais are good too, and the atmosphere with all of the small rooms and nooks and crannies keep it from being too loud in any one place. The lounge spaces with couches are fun, and some of the slider apps are the best part of the menu. Go for complexity here.

Don't expect to get in on a weekend without reservations. The place often has a 1 hour wait starting at about 7pm. I wish the kitchen was open late, but it isn't.

The whole place is a distraction, so come here on business only if you want a party.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Lively bar scene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

One of my favorite bars in palo alto. Fun drink and a fun crowd. I love their sangria and new Orleans style drinks. Great place to go with friends!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Drinks + Great Atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Superb and original drinks that are awesome. I always love the atmosphere and have a great time here with friends...they also have a great happy hour. I am only giving it three stars because the food is simply mediocre..I wish it was better because we LOVE Nola's. Come for happy hour and you'll be happy.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Good southern style food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Great service and food-enjoyed the gumbo and steak tacos. The bar was pretty noise, so we sat in dining area up stairs, which as great.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nola also viewed

Palo Alto, CA
Palo Alto, CA
 

Been to Nola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.