We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delightful”
Review of Evvia

420 Emerson St, Palo Alto, CA 94301
(650) 326-0983
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #1 of 313 restaurants in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: University
Description: Sister restaurant of Kokkari, Evvia has been serving beautiful and elegant Greek cuisine since 1995. Fabulous fish, savory roasted meats, and sun-soaked vegetables are jazzed up with a spritz of lemon, a little olive oil, and herbs. There is perfection in simplicity.
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    169
    48
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Evvia
See the most recent reviews
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

This was my second time to dine at Evvia and it was as good as the first. The lamb kabob was excellent. The servers and staff made us feel at home. I will be back on future trips to Palo Alto.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“They didn't seem to understand we had a reservation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We made a reservation with this well regarded, popular restaurant in Palo Alto, California 2 weeks in advance, asking for a "warm" table....(it has been cold in the San Francisco Bay Area). They even called the day before to confirm our reservation, but when we got there, they offered us a choice of 3 tables....2 were directly in front of the entrance door which was a wind tunnel and the third was at a table which was a waiter path and almost directly in the kitchen......noisy and not very pleasant. We took that as there were no other choices given. After we ordered, we noticed a table opening up in a quieter location and asked for it. They did move us and were cordial about it. After that the evening was fine. But since we had made the reservation 2 weeks in advance and confirmed it, and the restaurant is not cheap, I was unhappy at having to "fight for a table"! My husband remarked that it seemed to him, we were treated as if we were "walk ins" with no prior reservation.....he never complains, so it was pretty bad.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Definitely the best restaurant in Palo Alto!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Had the lunch special of grilled Petrale sole with braised chard. Seeing the entire fish on the plate was a bit daunting, but it was beautifully browned and crispy on the outside and tender and moist inside--delicious. The chard was done to perfection and perfectly seasoned. For dessert try their house made yogurt with walnuts, dates and honey. It is truly heavenly. Two of us shared it and could not finish because it was so thick and rich. If you don't see it on the menu ask for it, they always have it.
You can just order off the starters menu on your first visit so you can get a good sampling of what they have to offer.
It is no wonder Evvia is rated #1 in Palo Alto restaurants. Everything is top drawer: decor, service, and above all the menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“sit at the bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Was there for dinner - no reservation on a busy week night - hung out at the bar with a glass of wine until a table was available, but decided to stay put when seats opened up at the bar. The bartender was VERY impressively knowledgeable about the food prep and the wine list - the food was amazing, the wine recommendations were excellent, the company was great, and the ambiance was lovely -- would love the opportunity to go there again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delightful for Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Had a business lunch that was wonderful. The Zucchini Cakes were delicious. The Lamb Kabob was absolutely phenomenal and the mussels were outstanding. We also had the Horiatiki with a side of chicken that we devoured. The bread was fantastic. Mozna was our server, who added to the enjoyment of the meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evvia also viewed

 

Been to Evvia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evvia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.