We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mojitos!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Bodeguita del Medio

La Bodeguita del Medio
463 S. California Ave, Palo Alto, CA 94306
650-326-7762
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 273 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Menlo Park, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good Mojitos!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Conveniently located in Palo Alto's "second" downtown, this place is great. Their mojitos are really good, their staff is very attentive and the food nicely cooked. We had their plantains (a must) and coconut crusted snapper- definitely recommend it. We went on a Friday night and they had awesome live music playing as well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    45
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“My husband loves the cigar room, I love the live music and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This place is fun! I feel like I'm in a different country. The music has been exceptional when I've been there on a Saturday--with patrons happily singing along. We enjoy having a smoke in the back--such as throwback to the past. The food is excellent too.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Found this place by chance and just walked in. Wow. Great service by a staff that really seemed to care, great drinks, food, coffee, and dessert. If you smoke there is a cigar lounge too. What a gem. Tried the pulled pork.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I went here in August 2012. I had a mojito that I thought was quite bad, and the Cuban sandwich was just ok. I've been to a lot of Cuban places around the US (and Florida in particular), and this place was probably my least favorite. Nothing terrible per se, just not good or memorable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
“The best empanadas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Order empanadas, a refreshing mojito and ropa Vieja. It's a great place to meet with friends or even a romantic dinner. My favorite restaurant in America I wish they had that here in Vegas .

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bodeguita del Medio also viewed

Palo Alto, CA
Palo Alto, CA
 

Been to La Bodeguita del Medio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bodeguita del Medio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.