We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Steak, Prime Rib and Oysters Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sundance The Steakhouse

Sundance The Steakhouse
1921 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306
(650) 321-6798
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sundance The Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 273 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Stanford Ave.
Description: Since its opening in 1974, prime steaks and martinis have never gone out of style at this Palo Alto institution. The atmosphere is very clubby with fireplaces, dark wood, sports memorabilia and plush leather booths tucked into the many nooks throughout the dining room. Famous for their slow-roasted prime rib & hand-cut U.S.D.A Prime Steaks, they also offer fresh seafood, cold water lobster tail & succulent shellfish. The 23 oz. Bone-In Rib eye Steak is the "Boss' Favorite" while the Double Cut Filet Mignon runs a close second. Sundance is respected for serving the best food money can buy coupled with value & simplicity – a welcome relief for serious food & steak aficionados. The menu is supported by an award-winning wine list that features over 400 selections focusing on highly allocated Napa Valley Cabernets & Sonoma Pinot Noirs. Exceptional ratings & numerous restaurant awards rank Sundance the Steakhouse as a true dining destination.
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Steak, Prime Rib and Oysters Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Prime Rib as it should be...oysters with the fresh taste of the sea with great sauces. Oysters Rockefeller with hint of Pernod...as it should be.
All around best steak house across the country.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    72
    20
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Okay food but the waiter was so annoying”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

The food at Sundance is perfectly fine, but not particularly imaginative. The waiter we had, though, was beyond annoying. Our group consisted of two couples, and everyone was in his or her mid-fifties. Yet the waiter kept calling the women"young ladies," as in "did you young ladies want more sparkling water?," "did you young ladies save room for dessert?" and so on. Better than calling us "old bags," to be sure, but it felt terribly condescending. And he several times inserted himself into the conversation. I won't be ominous back here any time soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The food was very tasty. Everything was delicious, martini, starter - mushrooms, steak and of course the wine.Highly recommended.

Joanna

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Liked The Steak but Wine Gave Me Sticker Shock”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I am glad my son bought dinner because this restaurant is a bit pricey. I had a small filet for about $35 which came with a side of creamed spinach. My wife had a small cut of prime rib for about the same price with baked potato. She enjoyed her beef and I though the filet was excellent, one of the best I have ever had. Since I bought the wine, this list really shocked me since all of the Cabs were $60+. I also thought the waiter was a bit to impatient for this quality of restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“THE place to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Having had dinner here before, I knew a stay in Palo Alto was not complete without going to this classic steakhouse.

It is classic in every sense: Dark wood panelled dining room, classic menu with a lot of steak, heavy, strong wines etc.
We went there at 5.30, and the place was already close to being full. It is popular for sure.

For starters we had filet mignon filled springrolls. Best thing ever....no other word to describe it.
Mains were steaks: mine was prime rib, delicious with creamed spinach and some good crunchy vegetables. Others on the table ordered a variety of steaks, all done to perfection as ordered.

The place is not cheap, but for this kind of classic quality it's not bad value for money at all.

You want steak? Go to Sundance.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sundance The Steakhouse also viewed

Palo Alto, CA
Palo Alto, CA
 

Been to Sundance The Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundance The Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.