We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fresh !!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fuki-Sushi

Fuki-Sushi
4119 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306
(650) 494-9383
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 323 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Price range: $1 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Charleston
boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fresh !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The place did not look great from the outside but everything else were great. The sushi were all fresh and tasted great.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    32
    18
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fancy food, impersonal service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

First-class sushi at high prices, served by people many of whom have a distant cool detachment that (for me) discourages returning

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Funky Japanese Fusion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The quality of the fish is excellent and the unique recipes always intrigue. As I live in Vancouver, I am familiar with great sushi restaurants and Fuki-Sushi would not be out of place with all the high-end Japanese restaurants in Vancouver. There are several different ways to enjoy your plates - at the sushi bar, at a table, or in one of the westernized Tatami rooms. The one small complaint is the service is not quick, but it does take time to create the diverse, time-consuming dishes. I have heard the service can lag even more on busy weekends. Nevertheless, I highly recommend this place when in the Palo Alto area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Never Never on Saturday”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

On Saturdays Fuki Sushi tends to have lots of Stanford student groups of 6 or more. The kitchen can not keep up. We ordered 3 entree's and 4 appetizers, hot tea and one beer. The tea and beer took 20 minutes to arrive, the beer was flat and not cold and the tea was warm. The plates came one at a time with long waits in between. One entree was served with the first appetizer and the last 2 entrees were served 45 minutes after we sat down. We ordered a second pot of tea right away as we emptied the small pot on one roundWe never did get a second pot of tea or water. All this for $120 for 3 people....such a deal. No one asked how we were doing. Never again on a Friday or Saturday night.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hills
Top Contributor
345 reviews 345 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere, Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stopped by Fuki-Sushi in Palo Alto to have dinner last night. The building is large and definitely has a Japanese flair to it. I requested and was seated at the sushi bar. It’s a long bar with five or six chefs working feverishly and whipping out all kinds of mouthwatering delicacies.

The food was good but it pretty runs along the standard “Gaijin” or Americanized version of Japanese food. They have a decent selection of Sake but they are mostly the larger sized bottles and expensive. They also have a somewhat limited list of beers. I ordered a “Yebisu”, but they were out of it so I had to settle for a Sapporo. I had about a dozen different individual pieces of sushi and they were all good.

Overall, it was good to very good but I would consider it overpriced!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fuki-Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Fuki-Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fuki-Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.