We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky Japanese Fusion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fuki-Sushi

Fuki-Sushi
4119 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306
(650) 494-9383
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 313 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Price range: $1 - $40
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Charleston
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Funky Japanese Fusion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The quality of the fish is excellent and the unique recipes always intrigue. As I live in Vancouver, I am familiar with great sushi restaurants and Fuki-Sushi would not be out of place with all the high-end Japanese restaurants in Vancouver. There are several different ways to enjoy your plates - at the sushi bar, at a table, or in one of the westernized Tatami rooms. The one small complaint is the service is not quick, but it does take time to create the diverse, time-consuming dishes. I have heard the service can lag even more on busy weekends. Nevertheless, I highly recommend this place when in the Palo Alto area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    30
    17
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Never Never on Saturday”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

On Saturdays Fuki Sushi tends to have lots of Stanford student groups of 6 or more. The kitchen can not keep up. We ordered 3 entree's and 4 appetizers, hot tea and one beer. The tea and beer took 20 minutes to arrive, the beer was flat and not cold and the tea was warm. The plates came one at a time with long waits in between. One entree was served with the first appetizer and the last 2 entrees were served 45 minutes after we sat down. We ordered a second pot of tea right away as we emptied the small pot on one roundWe never did get a second pot of tea or water. All this for $120 for 3 people....such a deal. No one asked how we were doing. Never again on a Friday or Saturday night.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hills
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere, Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stopped by Fuki-Sushi in Palo Alto to have dinner last night. The building is large and definitely has a Japanese flair to it. I requested and was seated at the sushi bar. It’s a long bar with five or six chefs working feverishly and whipping out all kinds of mouthwatering delicacies.

The food was good but it pretty runs along the standard “Gaijin” or Americanized version of Japanese food. They have a decent selection of Sake but they are mostly the larger sized bottles and expensive. They also have a somewhat limited list of beers. I ordered a “Yebisu”, but they were out of it so I had to settle for a Sapporo. I had about a dozen different individual pieces of sushi and they were all good.

Overall, it was good to very good but I would consider it overpriced!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good westernized Japanese restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Went there for lunch with a bunch of colleagues. They quickly set up a large table for us and handled the orders very efficiently.

The food was very good, with larger quantities than typical in Asia. Tastier than authentic Japanese food, which is a good thing as many westerners can sometimes find real Japanese food quite bland...

I would certainly come back.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A local recommended this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

and surely didn't disappoint. Sushi and sashimi were fresh, tasty and perfectly appointed. Service could have been more attentive but the food was so good I will go there again. Not cheap but you get what you pay for.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fuki-Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Fuki-Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fuki-Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.