We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Burmese Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rangoon Ruby

Rangoon Ruby
445 Emerson Street, Palo Alto, CA 94301
(650) 323-6543
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rangoon Ruby is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 313 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Burmese, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: University
Transit: 5 minutes walk from the CalTrain station in Palo Alto.
Description: Now open in downtown Palo Alto, Rangoon Ruby Burmese Cuisine will have two Wins insuring authentic, Burmese cuisine. Chefs Win Aye and Win Tin formerly of Burma Superstars locations in Oakland and Alameda respectively, will jointly be heading up the kitchen at the new Rangoon Ruby venue. With proven chefs proficient in all of the specialties that make Burmese cuisine sought after by Asian food aficionados, plus a modern, upscale ambiance located in downtown Palo Alto, Rangoon Ruby Burmese Cuisine expects to strike a chord with Silicon Valley diners looking for a fresh, clean approach to one of the worlds great cuisines. Influenced by Indian, Thai and Chinese cooking, the traditional Burmese menu will be complemented by a full bar with signature tropical cocktails including the eponymous Rangoon Ruby, a mid-century libation thought to be the forerunner of todays Cosmopolitan.
Pamiruru
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Exceptional Burmese Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

It was a most enjoyable evening with friends. This place has excellent food prepared very fresh. It was a little crowded but it was a weekend and tables were tight but it was worth it, for sure!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    24
    15
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Smyrna Beach, FL
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful Burmese Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were staying at the nearby Sheraton and looking for a restaurant in walking distance that would satisfy our jet lag hunger. Something to counteract the flight peanuts and 100 calorie cookies. Hotel staff gave us a long list of restaurants and, when prodded to recommend something exotic, a front desk associate unhesitatingly pointed to Rangoon Ruby. We arrived at the restaurant early enough to be seated without a reservation. The host was most helpful describing the evening's specials. Even the tap water is infused with a hint of refreshing cucumber. Our appetizer, a delectable Palata Chicken which we shared, arrived promptly, followed by a classic Burmese Pad Thai, Pumpkin Salmon stew and a side of fragrant Burmese Indian rice. The portions were generous and the ingredients fresh and well cooked. I especially enjoyed the salmon stew textures, not to mention its flavor. Hunger sated, we had no room for dessert. The entire check including tax totaled less than $50. Arrive early or be sure you have a reservation. It was quite full when we left at seven.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A perfect dining experience - unless you BYOB”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was so close to being a 5-star experience it's heartbreaking.

Burmese cuisine is unusual, even for the Palo Alto area, which has restaurants of almost every ethnic group. If you have never tried the cuisine, you are in for a treat.

My wife and I went with another couple ... which worked out nicely as we ordered 5 dishes and shared ... each one a novel taste experience. One particular dish ... a salad containing (among other ingredients) tea leaves (!!) was a particularly pleasant surprise.

The decor featured photos of the Burmese people and was welcoming, service was exceptional (the waiters were fully attentive, water glasses were promptly refilled, all the dishes were brought in the order we requested and all were hot), our reservation was honored, we were seated ahead of the walk-ins which doesn't always happen, and the price was quite reasonable ($40 per person with tax, tip, and drinks) considering this was a 2 1/2 hour dinner (we were not rushed) in downtown Palo Alto on a Saturday night.

So what's not to like?

Well we brought along a special bottle of wine to celebrate the evening, but discovered to our dismay that the restaurant charged a $25 corkage fee! When we asked about this we were told "this is what the other restaurants in the area charge" which is not a responsive answer, and also happens NOT TO BE TRUE. In fact ... if the wine had been Australian, we would have been charged a $25 "screwage fee" which pretty much describes what tRangoon Ruby does to people who bring their own wine.

As a matter of policy ... so as not to encourage this sort of thing, three of us got different glasses of wine (one abstainer) and the total bill was $30 - so it was only slightly over what they would have made if they poured us our own wine ... and they wound up with 4 customers who had the edge taken off a perfect evening.

A corkage fee, even in Palo Alto, should NEVER be more than $15 (and is $15 even at upscale neighboring restaurants like La Strada). These guys are way out of line here.

So they lost a star.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great staff, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Parking is a pain but if you finds place go to Rangoon Ruby. The appetizers were great. We had five people and just ordered appetizers and dessert. The food was just the right spice

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“one of the best burmese food in the bay area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

the food is delicious and the service is superb.
although the price seems to be a liittle bit higher, the portion is huge and is intended to be family style dining! Also, the price is in the same level as most sit-down places in Palo Alto,

Highly recommend the Tea Leaf Salad as well as the Chicken and Shrimp Biryani! Servers are so nice and the food comes out very fast (even though we have to wait a while to order/check)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rangoon Ruby also viewed

Palo Alto, CA
Palo Alto, CA
 

Been to Rangoon Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rangoon Ruby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.