We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food can be healthy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oren's Hummus Shop

Oren's Hummus Shop
261 University Ave, Palo Alto, CA 94301-1714
650-752-6492
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 314 restaurants in Palo Alto
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Israeli
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food can be healthy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant proves that good tasting food can be healthy, too. We ate here twice while in Palo Alto because we liked it so much. A lot of vegetarian options, reasonable prices, filling portions. The restaurant is cosy but a bit loud as you sit very close to other tables. You may need to wait for a table but it doesn't take too long and it's worth the wait!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    59
    21
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, NJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“YUM!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Had a business lunch here, sat outside and people watched while enjoying some great middle eastern food. Hummus was great, pita was fresh, and the chicken skewers were so juicy and full of flavor! Highly recommended!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
263 helpful votes 263 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Plenty of delicious middle Eastern options. Service was friendly and efficient even over a busy lunch hour.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Israeli food as it should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Delicious hummus, great Israeli salad, tasty chicken and fresh pita served with a smile,this is a real treat. Stop in and enjoy great food at reasonable prices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Service..?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Walking around Palo Alto, we were famished and found that most decent restaurants were closed after lunch..?
I guess that's what happens in small towns and villages outside the city..?
Anyway, we came across Orens and were pleasantly surprised by the decor and airy fresh ambiance of the place. The menu suited our tastes and that besides, it was open for business..!
Then the waiter arrived, a man in his midlate 40s who turned out to be most condescending and unhelpful (if you're reading this, this is why you received a meagre tip, go figure..!)
Poor service aside, we enjoyed our meal and would return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oren's Hummus Shop also viewed

Palo Alto, CA
Palo Alto, CA
 

Been to Oren's Hummus Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oren's Hummus Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.