We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesomeness served on a plate!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oren's Hummus Shop

Oren's Hummus Shop
261 University Ave, Palo Alto, CA 94301-1714
650-752-6492
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 313 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Israeli
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Awesomeness served on a plate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We tried their sampler platter, chicken and falafel pita and the rice bowl with grilled chicken. All the dishes were generous portions and the freshly baked pita bread melted in your mouth. The green and red chilli paste sides were great mix of peppers and garlic. Highly recommend this place to all food lovers!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    34
    12
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lecce, Puglia, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mediocre restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I went to Orent's Hummus hoping to have an authentic Israeli dinner. The quality of the food was good, but we didn't really taste anything from that country. I can't imagine an Israeli dish with american fried potatoes.The service wasn't good at all: the waiter tried to sell us many dishes, nevertheless he forgot to bring us the Falafel that we really wanted to try. Finally he gave us the bill before that we asked for the dessert... and maybe it was an advertisement, because I ate the worst dessert of my life. I'm amazed for the hight rating of this restaurant, probably in Palo Alto there isn't any place less american than that where to eat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful vegetarian options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Always busy, this bustling place on University Ave in downtown Palo Alto never fails. Either eat in or take out (use the Order Ahead app for quick and easy service). While different from the classic falafels served at the Falafel Drive In in Santa Clara, these are equally tasty. Lots of different options including whole wheat pita or no bread. Be prepared for a wait if you go at lunch time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“JUST GO THERE.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Just go there & enjoy the best hummus ever!! Not too creamy but not watery. The service wasn't perfect but if that is what you are looking for then don't go there. This is not that type of a restaurant. This restaurant is all about the FOOD! Excellent food!! So JUST GO THERE!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trujillo, Peru
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Simply great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We were a group of nine friends from out of town having dinner and we all have similar opinion: one of the best middle eastern restaurants. The atmosphere is alive, the service is great, and the food delicious. Everybody in the kitchen are Mexicans, but they know how to cook. Highly recommended if you are close by.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oren's Hummus Shop also viewed

Palo Alto, CA
Palo Alto, CA
 

Been to Oren's Hummus Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oren's Hummus Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.