We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful vegetarian options” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oren's Hummus Shop

Oren's Hummus Shop
261 University Ave, Palo Alto, CA 94301-1714
650-752-6492
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 316 restaurants in Palo Alto
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Israeli
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Los Altos, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful vegetarian options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Always busy, this bustling place on University Ave in downtown Palo Alto never fails. Either eat in or take out (use the Order Ahead app for quick and easy service). While different from the classic falafels served at the Falafel Drive In in Santa Clara, these are equally tasty. Lots of different options including whole wheat pita or no bread. Be prepared for a wait if you go at lunch time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    62
    25
    8
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“JUST GO THERE.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Just go there & enjoy the best hummus ever!! Not too creamy but not watery. The service wasn't perfect but if that is what you are looking for then don't go there. This is not that type of a restaurant. This restaurant is all about the FOOD! Excellent food!! So JUST GO THERE!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trujillo, Peru
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simply great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We were a group of nine friends from out of town having dinner and we all have similar opinion: one of the best middle eastern restaurants. The atmosphere is alive, the service is great, and the food delicious. Everybody in the kitchen are Mexicans, but they know how to cook. Highly recommended if you are close by.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Yummy - next time will try shashuka”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We got take-out from Oren's at the advice of our niece who lives nearby. The take-out menu is more limited than the dine-in, so we had chicken and vegetable kebabs with quinoa and Israeli salads, traditional hummus with pita, carrots and eggplant (not the babganoush). The place was packed on a Thursday night, but our order was taken immediately by courteous staff and delivered quickly. Since the take-out orders are placed near the kitchen, we were able to see lots of yummy dishes coming out, including shashuka. Portions are generous; four of us shared 3 kebabs. We will definitely go back next time we're in the area, to see what else we missed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Oren's offers great food and service. The restaurant is too small for the demand - long waits and big crowds.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oren's Hummus Shop also viewed

 

Been to Oren's Hummus Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oren's Hummus Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.