We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy - next time will try shashuka” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oren's Hummus Shop

Oren's Hummus Shop
261 University Ave, Palo Alto, CA 94301-1714
650-752-6492
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 313 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Israeli
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Yummy - next time will try shashuka”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We got take-out from Oren's at the advice of our niece who lives nearby. The take-out menu is more limited than the dine-in, so we had chicken and vegetable kebabs with quinoa and Israeli salads, traditional hummus with pita, carrots and eggplant (not the babganoush). The place was packed on a Thursday night, but our order was taken immediately by courteous staff and delivered quickly. Since the take-out orders are placed near the kitchen, we were able to see lots of yummy dishes coming out, including shashuka. Portions are generous; four of us shared 3 kebabs. We will definitely go back next time we're in the area, to see what else we missed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    34
    11
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Oren's offers great food and service. The restaurant is too small for the demand - long waits and big crowds.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Simply very good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We went to Oren`s a couple of times during our holiday in SFO. Very good food on both occassions. Loved their pita bread, hummus and the spicy accompaniments. Energetic and polite service. Its a pity that the dessert didnt match upto our expectations as compared to the other courses - there is scope to improve on that count.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Good Israeli food.
Nice portions of food that is fresh and well prepared

alway crowded but worth the wait

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Misses the mark”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I went specifically because of the reviews on TA. I love Israeli/Middle Eastern food, and the "hummus test" is the first measure of the quality of a restaurant. While the hummus is quite good, Oren's is too expensive to justify a trip across town. For example, the hummus classic is $7.95, and comes with a bit of pita (mine was wet/soggy on about 20%). My falafel where too oily, and lacked subtlety. The Tabule was also had too much olive oil. I would have rated it lower were it not for great staff and a great energy. Perhaps that's because it's got a VC/innovator's feel (this is palo alto after all), but credit goes to management for hiring good people.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oren's Hummus Shop also viewed

Palo Alto, CA
Palo Alto, CA
 

Been to Oren's Hummus Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oren's Hummus Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.