We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy - next time will try shashuka” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oren's Hummus Shop

Oren's Hummus Shop
261 University Ave, Palo Alto, CA 94301-1714
650-752-6492
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 273 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Israeli
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Yummy - next time will try shashuka”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We got take-out from Oren's at the advice of our niece who lives nearby. The take-out menu is more limited than the dine-in, so we had chicken and vegetable kebabs with quinoa and Israeli salads, traditional hummus with pita, carrots and eggplant (not the babganoush). The place was packed on a Thursday night, but our order was taken immediately by courteous staff and delivered quickly. Since the take-out orders are placed near the kitchen, we were able to see lots of yummy dishes coming out, including shashuka. Portions are generous; four of us shared 3 kebabs. We will definitely go back next time we're in the area, to see what else we missed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    47
    16
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Oren's offers great food and service. The restaurant is too small for the demand - long waits and big crowds.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Simply very good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We went to Oren`s a couple of times during our holiday in SFO. Very good food on both occassions. Loved their pita bread, hummus and the spicy accompaniments. Energetic and polite service. Its a pity that the dessert didnt match upto our expectations as compared to the other courses - there is scope to improve on that count.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Good Israeli food.
Nice portions of food that is fresh and well prepared

alway crowded but worth the wait

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Misses the mark”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I went specifically because of the reviews on TA. I love Israeli/Middle Eastern food, and the "hummus test" is the first measure of the quality of a restaurant. While the hummus is quite good, Oren's is too expensive to justify a trip across town. For example, the hummus classic is $7.95, and comes with a bit of pita (mine was wet/soggy on about 20%). My falafel where too oily, and lacked subtlety. The Tabule was also had too much olive oil. I would have rated it lower were it not for great staff and a great energy. Perhaps that's because it's got a VC/innovator's feel (this is palo alto after all), but credit goes to management for hiring good people.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oren's Hummus Shop also viewed

Palo Alto, CA
Palo Alto, CA
 

Been to Oren's Hummus Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oren's Hummus Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.