We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently fresh, tasty, and affordable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sancho's Taqueria

Sancho's Taqueria
491 Lytton Ave, Palo Alto, CA 94301
(650) 322-8226
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 273 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Consistently fresh, tasty, and affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Prepare to get in line if you arrive anywhere in the noon hour, but other than cramped quarters, this place does not fail. The food is delicious. Get an order of 2-3 soft tacos. The fish and veggie are my two favorites. The manager and team work very hard, and they have a Redwood City location that caters as well.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Grilled Fish Taco! Must try!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Tender moist grilled fish nuggets, crunchy cabbage slaw, savory light cheese sauce, sweet chopped onion, all wrapped in a warm fresh soft taco. They come with a wedge of lime and it is there for a reason! Squeeze it over the grilled fish nuggets and spoon over some of their delicious salsa, and you got yourself a little piece of Mexican heaven in downtown Palo Alto! (Alright, alright, maybe it is more of an Americanized Mexican heaven, but still......)

It's a fairly small place and the line gets long during lunch hours. They do have tables outside, which can be a great way to enjoy their grilled fish tacos on a sunny California day!

The menu is quite extensive but I always get 2 x grilled fish tacos every time I go there, even though I keep telling myself that I am going to try something new next time. I'd say the price is about average for Palo Alto downtown, but may be a bit higher than other places. Tax included, each grilled fish taco, which is about a bit over a palm size, costs a little over 4 dollars. It's worthy it though, in my opinion.

They also give you some complementary tortilla chips so make sure to get some of their salsa at the mini self-serve station at the corner. The salsa comes in mild, medium spicy, spicy and extra spicy.

The staff is fairly friendly but the service can be slow at times. They told me once that grilled fish can take a bit longer because they grill them fresh on demand. (Maybe that's why they are so delicious!)

Highly recommended! You won't regret it!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mind-blasting fish taco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Second day of work, my boss tells me about this place. Being part Mexican myself I wasn't really up for it. I was wrong.
The place is quite small and really welcoming! The service/orders are pretty quick and the atmosphere really nice. But most of all, THE FISH TACO IS AMAZING! That's just the most complete efficient snack ever.
If you work around or are just in the mood for a good and easy lunch, go for it!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food in lively setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Great authentic Mexican food in an informal, lively setting, a block away from University Avenue. On most days this tiny restaurant is packed, so you may want to consider take-out. Even when there's a line service is quite fast. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sancho's Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to Sancho's Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sancho's Taqueria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.