We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lyfe is in the right place at the right time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lyfe Kitchen

Lyfe Kitchen
167 N. Hamilton, Palo Alto, CA
650-325-5933
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 316 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Californian
Restaurant details
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lyfe is in the right place at the right time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Casual, family atmosphere and creative, healthy food. They list the calories and sodium for each dish, which is very helpful for those of us on low sodium diets. And they have food for vegetarians, vegans, gluten-free, and carnivores. The fish tacos made with mahi-mahi are delicious. I also had the grilled artichoke with aioli, which was made with yogurt, not mayonnaise. The food is not haute cuisine, and does not claim to be. It is all fresh and in season, healthy and tasty.
There were several families when we were there and the children all seemed to be enjoying the food. The angus hamburgers appeared to be a hit with them. Very nice to see all the varied diets accomodated in one place. The beer list is excellent according to my beer loving husband.
Lyfe seems to be a new local favorite, I know it is going to be one of mine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    26
    16
    13
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“January Road Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Incredible food. Recommended by a friend. We had a wonderful breakfast. I had the frittata with fingerling potatoes. It was delicious. A little hard to find unless you know Palo Alto. Will definitely go there again when in the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Healthy Fast Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

If you're looking for something casual, convenient and tasty, this is a good alternative. Everything prepared with care. Everything has calorie count given up front. Gluten free and vegan options, and, believe it or not, wine and beer. It's probably not a great sign that I can't remember the flavors of anything in particular that I ate there and I've been twice, but neither can I recall anything bad. It's a nice option to have even if it isn't my first choice in town. A sunny deck is in its favor.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Look out for this new up and comer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great food. Mushroom and goat-cheese flatbread is a must. Taste is what leads the experience, while diversity of menu and freshness, let alone focus on food origination is what makes this place unique. Organic wine is fun but, well, organic wine. Met the manager and Lyfe team - fantastic people. If you are a vegetarian - you don't need to go anywhere else. If you are a vegan - this is it. If you are a person who cares about where the food comes from - you found it. Unlike the previous reviewer - I don't live in the area, I am old and still turn my computer on with a gasp of "wow, that is so cool!". I hate chic (but these guys are certainly "in"). I just love great, fresh, safe food in a lively atmosphere. This is a "must try" place. Oh, and these guys will be in New York City soon - I know it. I hope to be one of their first customers! Thanks for your commitment and good luck!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“an "everyday restaurant"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

You have to understand why Lyfe exists. There's a strata of Palo Alto - mostly young tech nerds - who simply don't cook at home. They work in the offices right around this end of University Ave. Lyfe is made for them. The cooking is like what you would cook at home, some decent soups and burgers and grilled fish, and is much more healthy ( less rich, less oil ) then you get at most places. You can probably eat here a few nights a week and not go crazy. Service is laid back counter style with buzzers - no hassle - and there are couches and booths. There are vegan and glucose free options on the menu.

That all being said, the food is kind of bland and pedestrian, but on a day when you're travelling and you want something like actual home cook food with zero hassle, this just might fit the bill. It's quiet, too.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lyfe Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Lyfe Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyfe Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.