We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fresh Spring Rolls!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Thai Bistro

Lotus Thai Bistro
425 S California Ave, Palo Alto, CA 94306-1832
650-289-0907
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #148 of 313 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Cuisines: Thai, Bistro
Restaurant details
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Fresh Spring Rolls!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were a large group and even though the restaurant wasn't big, the staff was very accommodating! We shared our food family style and loved everything we ordered--especially the spring rolls, beef panang curry, and salmon tamarine.

Definitely wished we lived closer to this place!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent Thai food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This is the best Thai food I have had in a long time! The waiters were friendly and service prompt. We even received a nice surprise treat at the end of our meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fresh & authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Love this place. It has little atmosphere & is unlicensed, but does excellent food. It was fresh, aromatic & when I ordered "hot" that's what I got! But it was still subtle. I'd love to have this place in my neighbourhood as the perfect takeout place. I'd order every Friday night.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Food, Watch the Spice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I have been here twice for lunch and ordered different things each time. So far all of my meals have been pretty good although I would suggest you don't order the fried rice since there are better things on the menu. The first time I got medium spicy but it definitely wasn't medium by any normal standards. I have a pretty high tolerance for spiciness but my nose was starting to run towards the end.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The Best Thai!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

This tiny restaurant serves the very best Thai curries and other Thai dishes in the SF Bay Area. All of their ingredients are super-fresh. They have vegetarian options available for nearly every dish. They also offer brown rice. If you want Thai noodles, they are probably better elsewhere. Try the fresh-rolls, satay, lemongrass scallops, pumpkin curry and other specials. The ambiance is that of a "hole-in-the wall" restaurant, but they do plate/present their dishes beautifully. Dinner is better than lunch. They are very family-friendly. They don't serve beer/wine/alcohol, but you can bring your own.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lotus Thai Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Lotus Thai Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus Thai Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.