We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge room! Good service. Free parking. Best location from Stanford.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stanford Terrace Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Stanford Terrace Inn to your Saves list
Stanford Terrace Inn
531 Stanford Ave, Palo Alto, CA 94306-1113   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Palo Alto
GreenLeadersGold level
Stanford, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Huge room! Good service. Free parking. Best location from Stanford.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

This is the fourth hotel I stayed in around this area (the other ones being Stanford Park, Sheraton, and Quality Inn). I must say that I am really impressed by my experience here.

First of all, the room is huge! Seriously! It is probably 1.5-2x the size of rooms you find at other hotel. Even though it looks a bit old, it is not too bad. There is also a swimming pool, which is great for Spring time like my stay. Parking is free. Breakfast is also free but don't expect anything fancy.

The staff member was great. Always smiling and letting us know everything we needed. The location is great since it is only 5-10 minutes drive to the center of Stanford U (by that I mean Tresidder Union).

The price is not too bad. Average by Palo Alto standard. Compared to Quality Inn, this is much more expensive but given the location and the spacious room, I think it is quite worth the premium price. This hotel will be my choice if I have the need to stay in a hotel around this area again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    31
    37
    25
    12
See reviews for
20
19
21
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed here recently on a business trip and enjoyed having a little extra room to spread out. My room was clean, had access to internet, and included a free breakfast in the morning. It was a charming place, with lots of flowers and plants on the grounds and a comfortable vibe. Definitely a nice change of pace from the standard business hotels that I usually frequent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyncote, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I've stayed at the Stanford Terrace Inn more times than I can count over the last several years, often twice a month, as I fly in from Philadelphia to work in Redwood City. I suspect management has changed at least 2-3 times, and the hotel staff seem to constantly change. The hotel used to have a quaint feel to it, but now has been remodeled and it's generally not for the better. The rooms seem noisier and I agree with those who suggest a room on the third floor. At this point I've stayed in nearly every room, and those that are away from the pool seem to be a bit quieter.

WiFi varies, but lately has been usable. The last time I was there (three weeks ago), they had placed a large computer monitor and keyboard on the desk, which is silly as it takes up desk space and generally most people bring their own computers. Since I couldn't easily move the display off the desk, I used it as a second monitor, but they don't make it easy to do that as all the wiring was tied together. As I really do need that space to work with my own computer, this was not helpful.

The bathroom has always been ok, but on my last visit the shower would only put out dangerously hot water, so I could not take a shower as I rushed out to work and a board meeting. Not good.

The breakfast is fair but I no longer do it because seating tends to fill up and it's perhaps easier and more healthy for me to grab something at a nearby Jamba Juice.

It is not a bad place, especially I suspect for small families, since there is a pool. But the hotel is open to the weather and when it rains, everything outside one's room is often wet. They also overdosed on plants, which seem to make the hotel look like a rainforest.

Parking is adequate but tight. I'm surprised no one has hit one of the building supports or walls, as it is not that easy to back out of most spaces. I generally park in the rear section, which seems to have a touch more room.

I gave up on their gym long ago, since their treadmill seems to reset the distance run if you change speeds. Easier on most days to just run outside at the Stanford campus.

I'm staying here again since it's best point is that it is near California Avenue, but am looking into other options. It used to be a more reasonable $149/night but I think it went to their heads when their occupancy was up so they raised it quite a bit and it just isn't worth that money.

Room Tip: Third floor, with anything in the rear as a good alternative.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel offered free parking and Wi-Fi. It was close to the Stanford campus which was nice. The rooms are pretty spacious but seems like there is wasted space.
The previous guest's washcloth was still hanging over the shower and one of the towels was dirty. The pillows were very hard. You can hear a lot of noise from the room next door and outside.
There are lots and lots of plants all through the courtyard and the hallways. The plants are overgrown which makes it challenging to walk through with luggage and is also a bit of a security concern.
Overall I think the hotel was overpriced for what you get. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I recently visited Stanford University on business and the college put me up at the Stanford Terrace Inn. The lush grounds were very inviting, with a pool in one area and a gazebo and multiple seating areas in another courtyard.

The room was huge, and I double-checked with the front desk to see if they were all that size. They are, but it seems to waste a lot of space. There was a desk and a loveseat and chair, plus a king bed and armoire. There were two televisions (one inside the armoire; one wall-mounted) and enough floor space for a pair of couples to dance without running into one another. An adjacent dressing area with a vanity was also huge, with a large separate bathroom. There were patches on some of the walls where it appeared repairs had been made but not painted over.

It seems like redecorating to make better use of the space would increase the appeal of the rooms. For example, there is enough room to include a small table and chairs.

However, the hotel was clean; the staff was extremely friendly and went out of their way to accommodate my requests. If visiting Stanford again, I would stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

I liked this not so little converted hotel on the South edge of the Stanford campus. It grounds were unique and very tranquil. The inn is worth the non-standard booking process. The rooms are clean, well appointed and have comfortable beds with nice linens. Liked it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed two nights at the Stanford Terrace Inn and was happy to leave. The hotel has a run down feel, though it's possible to envision it once being a nice place. The atrium looks like a jungle with tired plants in desperate need of trimming. The rooms, though large, are run down and musty smelling. The rooms also lack good insulation so they're sensitive to outside temperatures and it's easy to hear your neighbors (especially those above you if you're not staying on the third floor).

Our second morning there, the shower handle popped off the wall while my husband was showering. This resulted in 2.5 hours of non-stop hot water gushing out while we waited for the maintenance man to start his shift. Management was apologetic enough and accommodated our request to change rooms, upgrading us to the "Stanford Suite".

The suite was much nicer and roomier with a separate living room, upgraded bathroom and better decor (though still somewhat dated). Unfortunately it has several cons:
- adjacent to a small kitchen/pantry where they clean dishes from the lobby breakfasts (i.e. loud)
- bedroom and living room windows face the hotel front (Stanford Ave) resulting in some street noise
- the heater is very loud
- the bedroom air vent is poorly positioned, blowing air directly on the bed, and can't be adjusted

After switching rooms, I decided to try and take advantage of the jacuzzi tub. Almost immediately after turning on the water, THE TUB SPOUT SHOT OFF AND BROKE. Are you kidding me!?!? At least the water could still be shut off, but seriously, the SAME issue but in the SUITE this time? Unacceptable.

Overall, the Stanford Terrace Inn has a few perks (large rooms, proximity to campus, decent breakfast), but we will definitely not be staying here in the future unless it undergoes some massive remodeling project.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room on the third floor to avoid noise from upstairs neighbors. Don't splur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanford Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Terrace Inn

Address: 531 Stanford Ave, Palo Alto, CA 94306-1113
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the street from the Stanford campus, you'll find the Stanford Terrace Inn, an oasis of unexpected elegance. In the midst of Silicon Valley, you'll discover a tradition of old world hospitality. Here, Tuscan murals adorn the walls, evoking a timeless sense of luxury. Our secluded garden setting and sun-drenched patio makes it easy to unwind. Or perhaps relieve the stresses of the day in our heated pool. Inside your over-sized guest room, you'll find all the modern conveniences. Complimentary cable TV, high-speed Internet access, and a desk large enough to get some real work done. All at a price that's pleasantly surprising. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Stanford Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Terrace Hotel Palo Alto
Stanford Terrace Palo Alto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanford Terrace Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.