We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old style hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stanford Terrace Inn

Save Saved
You added Stanford Terrace Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stanford Terrace Inn
531 Stanford Ave, Palo Alto, CA 94306-1113   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Palo Alto
GreenLeadersGold level
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Old style hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

The Stanford Terrace Inn is an old style hotel with rooms located around a central garden area. The rooms are large and well maintained. Free wireless internet provided in all rooms. Breakfast is served in the spacious entry foyer and includes bakery items, cereals, waffles, fruit, yoghurt and juices. A short walk to Stanford and local restaurants. Overall an ok hotel in a good location. If you have a car there are better hotels in this price range a little further from the university.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    31
    36
    22
    11
See reviews for
19
19
21
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Perfect location for accessing Stanford University. All hotels in Palo Alto are expensive & this is towards the lower end ($270 a night). But if you don't have to stay in the district go elsewhere. Having said that the room are very large & the place is painted in bright colors - good retro feel. The lush gardens in pots in the 2 courtyards are beautiful. Staff were so helpful & polite. Close to a choice of restaurants in California Ave. Has great fast wi-fi so I could get plenty of work done.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed one night at the Stanford Terrace as everything else was full. A bit slow on checkin but O.K. Room very large with microwave, fridge, knives (?). Had a computer for use in the room (its silicon valley, right!) Furnishings were spare and rather old, but clean. Pillows not too great but again bed and bathroom were clean. Nothing fancy here at all, a bit pricey (around $300 with tax) but as the only thing that looked decent it was O.K. Had a nice little continental breakfast bar in the morning. Very close to Stanford and thus was adequate. No real complaints, but a bit shopworn and funky is all. More expensive than probably similar chains in the area but location was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

This is a conveniently located hotel serving Stanford University students and families and business visitors to Palo Alto and Menlo Park. Immediately following a remodel in 2005, it was a simple and clean, friendly and service oriented hotel.

Maybe due to a change in ownership or just no investment in maintenance, the hotel should NOT be considered. Broken or damaged were the garage gate system, guest room toilet seat and bathroom fan. Rooms feel run down and dingy as the aging remodel wears down. As bad, all of the boutique hotel touches (apples and cookies upon arrival, a knowledgeable staff) are gone - replaced by more ugly potted plants than would fit in a hotel 4 times this size. The property is literally overrun with a residential garden gone haywire.

Rates have gone up which would be fine and expected if the hotel were addressing basic upkeep. As it stands, I assume my dollars are going toward Home Depot for gardening supplies.

Last time staying at The Stanford Terrace Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Hotel offered lovely spacious rooms. The only down side was that they were putting on a new roof when we were there. They hadn't mentioned that when we booked. They initially gave us a room on the top floor but it smelled of tar so we asked to be moved. Got a room on the second floor and that was much better. Breakfast is ok. There is limited seating in the lobby and it is really not designed for breakfast but it better than some. The important thing was it was quiet and clean.

Room Tip: The elevator in this place is ancient and very small. It is primarily a walk-up. If you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I checked into my room and found that it had been only partially cleaned. Apparently, the cleaning staff decided to call it a day before picking up towels, robes, and dirty glasses and cleaning the bathroom sink. I complained upon checking in, but they couldn't give me a different room. There solution was to give me some new soap and towels. The TV wouldn't work either. The staff tried to be nice, but there were no apologies and no sense that the customer comes first. Despite my efforts for them to acknowledge my inconvenience at check-out, they just gave me a form to fill out that someone will probably never see. Needless to say, they never followed up with me. For the price you pay, this place is completely overpriced. Breakfast is below average. Room AC/heater unit is loud. Walls are so thin that I woke up when my neighbor's alarm clock went off. Avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Used to visit this hotel since late 2009 and paid $140/night with Stanford medical discount. Rate this week was $279/night. Not worth this kind of money. Hotel management doesn't seem to understand there are numerous alternatives within 2 miles for $100 less per night. The most important hotel amenities are the secure underground parking (excellent) and the proximity to everything Stanford. A Starbucks is next door. Despite this the rooms are over sized, over priced, some of the oldest most uncomfortable furniture possible. Some rooms don't have reading lamps near the bed and in some cases you cannot watch TV while in bed. The furniture was stained and horribly uncomfortable. These people do not have a clue what's going or they are marketing to a population of visitors that doesn't care what shape the hotel is in. THIS HOTEL HAS SEEN ITS LAST BETTER DAY. We can't stay here again as I feel ripped off for the features provided. The hotel staff can be accommodating but they don't have the assets to work with to make this a competitive hotel. Look for this hotel to be re-sold (again) or go out of business. WAKE UP. There are possibilities here but not based on a good continental breakfast and nearby Starbucks.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanford Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Terrace Inn

Address: 531 Stanford Ave, Palo Alto, CA 94306-1113
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the street from the Stanford campus, you'll find the Stanford Terrace Inn, an oasis of unexpected elegance. In the midst of Silicon Valley, you'll discover a tradition of old world hospitality. Here, Tuscan murals adorn the walls, evoking a timeless sense of luxury. Our secluded garden setting and sun-drenched patio makes it easy to unwind. Or perhaps relieve the stresses of the day in our heated pool. Inside your over-sized guest room, you'll find all the modern conveniences. Complimentary cable TV, high-speed Internet access, and a desk large enough to get some real work done. All at a price that's pleasantly surprising. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Stanford Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Terrace Hotel Palo Alto
Stanford Terrace Palo Alto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanford Terrace Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.