We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It ought to be good, for this price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Palo Alto

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   675 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 hotels in Palo Alto
West Jordan, Utah
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It ought to be good, for this price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Call me cheap or call me thrifty, but for what we paid for this room, it had BETTER be decent. It was quite nice, although we were at the far back of the property, and the hallways are more confusing than a halloween corn maze. Beds are awesome. Bath was exquisite, though the shower was a just tad cramped (with the sq feet in the bathroom, making the shower stall a bit larger wasn't an issue.) Seperate tub was a nice size. Staff was very nice to work with and did their best to assure we were happy. Overnight parking was $10, and valet was $15...so we figured for the extra $5 it was worth it to have them park our car; when you see the underground parking you'll probably agree to let them deal with it.
We stayed here because a family member was in nearby Stanford Medical Center. We paid $135 for a Saturday evening, $255 for Sunday (same room), and couldn't get Monday because the hotel was booked. If we'd been able to keep the room, the price rose to $419. The $255 I can understand and might grumble about (but would pay), but there's no way I would've stayed here for the $419 price quoted for Monday. I understand Microsoft vendors stay here often and get a great corporate rate. Yay them and boo me.
With a walking mall just down the street, we chose to have dinner in one of the many local restaurants rather than at the hotel. (Another in our party tried it and said the food was good, and moderately priced.) We talked to a Palo Alto cop who assured us this was a safe neighborhood for walking to local shops and nearby Stanford Mall.
Didnt use the wifi because it was $15/day and I have 3G in my tablet. Didnt try the pool due to chilly weather but some brave souls were out in it and it looked well-maintained. Various water features around the property give a nice, relaxing, backyard sort of feel. Despite the higher-than-I'm-used-to rate, I'd stay again.

Room Tip: Quite, relaxing property. Great weekend rates, but find someplace else during the week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Doug R,
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel with the Trip Advisor community. We are pleased that you enjoyed so many aspects of our hotel. We understand that the rates in the area can be higher than many are used to and are pleased that you were able to take advantage of our lower weekend rates. We hope that your family member is fairing well.
Warmest Regards,
Tanya F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    198
    128
    47
    13
    9
See reviews for
68
66
48
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at the Westin for our vacation in Palo Alto California. The hotel was spotless clean. The gentleman behind the reception immediately whipped together a goodie bag of gifts for our young kids. All of us had a fabulous time.

If you are looking for a quiet place to stay right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Silicon Valley, then this is the best place to stay. Especially so for families on vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear RPI- Alum,
It's great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your vacation at the Westin Palo Alto. I expect our team enjoys giving out the Westin Kids Club bags almost as much as the kids enjoy receiving them. We hope that you will come back and see us again.
All the best,
Tanya F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Not much has changed since I last stayed at the Westin Palo Alto five years ago. The hotel is comfortable and conveniently located, but customer service is not the hotel's strong point.

The staff is always polite and professional, but otherwise useless. Any special requests are met with a "sorry, we can't/won't do that." The staff at this Westin should read my other recent review for the Grand Hyatt Taipei and take some lessons - you're more likely get repeat business visitors if you try finding solutions rather than defaulting to "no."

On one evening, the hotel's internet service -- which is NOT free - broke. Multiple calls to the front desk got little more than a polite "I'm sorry" with no indication that the staff was trying to escalate the issue. If you're traveling on business, as I was, this is not acceptable, especially if the hotel charges about $15 daily for internet service.

The swimming pool had debris in it and didn't look like anybody had cleaned it in a while. (To be fair, the temperature outside never got above 60 while I stayed there, but that doesn't excuse a dirty pool.)

With all that being said, the beds are comfortable, the rooms are clean, the location is within walking distance to University Avenue, and the valet always returned my car quickly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear NooYawkuh,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience via Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the cleanliness, location and comfort of our hotel but disappointed that interactions with a member of our team left something to be desired. I would appreciate further details so that we are able to address and improve for the future. Please feel free to reach out to me at tfleming@pahotel.com. Again, thank you for the feedback and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Warmest Regards,
Tanya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Over the last 4 years, I have stayed at numerous hotels in the Palo Alto area, and none come close to my great experience at the Westin. It has the best location to Stanford & downtown. It is always immaculate (the room, lobby, fitness & pool areas). The room rates are always reasonable for the value you are receiving. And my favorite reason for staying here is that the staff never says no! The front desk always accommodates any request I have, which is very refreshing. In the future, whenever visiting the Palo Alto area, I will always stay at the Westin.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This lovely hotel could appear to be too much like a museum where everything is beautiful but you don't want to touch it. The staff made all the difference in providing warmth and personality. Our check-in was prompt and efficient, though they won our 4 year old's heart. She was given a Westin kids pack that had a wonderful sun hat, "map of the world", and decorate your own postcards. What a surprise! We've stayed at other Westin properties but have never been offered such a sweet welcome for the kiddo. I'm not sure if we lucked into a more kid friendly property or if this is a new Westin program. Needless to say, after we unpacked in our spacious pool-view room, our little explorer was donning her new hat and pack.

Our room was bumped to a Starwood preferred room which gave us complimentary bottles of water and corner location. Our bathroom was the size of a small bedroom with a soaking tub on one side, an enclosed glass rain shower on the other. Our bed was luxurious and room super quiet, despite being next to a side street.

We did not eat in the hotel. Hubby used the gym and gave it the thumbs up. I should have worked out and taken advantage of the use of Nike workout clothes and shoes, as I did not bring my own. Hopefully this will be a feature in our next Westin stay so I can try it. Smart marketing.

Would love to stay here again as the location is prime and the room was perfect.

Room Tip: If you have the Starwood program but purchased on an external site, they still might upgrade you to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The valet met our vehicle immediately and unloaded our baggage onto a cart (hanging the jackets, of course!). We were checked in and shown to our room in a very prompt and courteous manner. We were given information about the area and engaged in pleasant conversation on the way to our room. Our bags were brought into our room and set on the luggage racks. Our jackets were hung in the closet and our ice bucket was filled. We were asked if we need anything further or any other assistance. The room was very nice and overlooked a courtyard garden. The spa-like bathroom was beautiful with marble and contemporary fixtures. It was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Palo Alto Westin is located conveniently on the corner of El Camino & University, a short walk to the shops on University and a short drive (or brisk walk) to the Stanford campus.

Caroline & Jonathan were very helpful in making sure my request for early check-in was accommodated. The staff in general was courteous.

The 5-story building is shaped so that many of the rooms look into a courtyard (and other rooms). The drawback is that the view is of the rooms on the other side of the courtyard and if you're on the side facing CalTrain, you'll hear the train when it makes its stop at the Palo Alto station.

WiFi is $9.95/day (unlimited devices) and self-parking is $10/day (lot on side or underneath the building). Bathroom has tub and shower. Business center has the basic amenities needed to print boarding passes, etc.

Minor comment but on sunny days (even in January), the hallways get pretty warm [maybe 85 degrees]. Perhaps the a/c isn't on during the winters since it's assumed it'll be too cold to need it.

Generally a good stay - location & staff are the biggest reasons for staying here.

Room Tip: Room facing away from CalTrain just northeast of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Palo Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palo Alto

Also Known As:
The Westin Palo Alto Hotel Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto Hotel
Westin Palo Alto
Palo Alto Westin
Address: 675 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
#6 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Palo Alto 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience California at The Westin Palo Alto hotel, adjacent to Stanford University, and within walking distance of some of the best restaurants, shops, and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Starwood, Tingo, Amex, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Westin Palo Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Palo Alto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Westin Palo Alto to your Saves list