We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so Reception , Good Hotel , Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Palo Alto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Palo Alto to your Saves list
The Westin Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   675 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“So so Reception , Good Hotel , Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Front Desk people can be like in a casino , few are nice , few are not so reliable.
I syaed for few weeks , had to cancel a flight to New York because of Hurricasne Sandy , they didn't like the idea ... as I had a great upgraded room , so they started to say that there is no room available... and the price will double ... etc ... but short visit in SPG website showed availability in all categories...in much lower price.
Only after addressing to the GM problem solved ... I guess they are always full , so customer relationship is not something they need to invest in or worry about.

Nevertheless it was always nice to return to the property , nice small swimming pull and Outdoor Jacuzzi , and great Location , and nice service from all the other staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace , they have few of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    146
    58
    22
    12
See reviews for
85
77
53
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business several times. All good experiences. Service is always attentive, rooms always clean and comfortable. Those are the most important things for me.

Lobby bar lacks something. Nothing wrong, just no real draw to it. I've never eaten at the restaurant but it looks good.

Gym can get busy in the early am (5 treadmills, a few ellipticals and other balls/mat, etc.) but a shoebox for a dumbbell workout room. They could ditch the bathroom and expand the gym...there are already bathrooms just outside the door. Also had to call for sanitary wipes but they quickly filled them.

Will return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a great property. I have stayed here numerous times and always been happy. I was here two separate times in December for numerous nights each time. The staff was great and always eager to help. Sunday brunch was awesome. I find it refreshing when you walk past the front desk and the staff say hello and ask if there is anything they can help you with. Definitely recomend this property for location as well as comfort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I use this Hotel on a regular basis. I have met the staff from Management all the way through Housekeeping. Everyone always takes the time to make a perfect stay for the Guest. That is why this is my hotel

Room Tip: I have Never had a Bad Room. This is what 5 star hotels try to give there Customers
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This Hotel goes out of there way to make each and every stay perfect. I choose perfect hotels for every area I stay in. This Hotel is my choice for Anything near Stanford or Palo Alto. You will not be let down.

Room Tip: They have the Perfect Breakfast Buffet and are only a Block and 1/2 from a Beautiful Shopping Mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have stayed here no less than 20 times for work. The location and staff cannot be beat. The price of the rooms varies so greatly that it goes from great deal to rip-off depending on the cost. But there really is no better place to stay in Palo Alto. It's a short walk to downtown PA for dinner. The bar is quiet at all times and offers some happy hour snacks. Business center is sufficient, as is fitness center. Although both seem small for the size of the hotel. The rooms are well appointed, clean, and comfortable. Bathrooms are large and most have separate shower/tubs. Valet is fast and room service is good food with better service. This hotel does nothing spectacularly, but does everything very well. This is my first choice for a room in Palo Alto.

Room Tip: I recommend a room on the second floor. That way, you needn't have to wait for the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

So it was bad enough arriving and walking into my room which like other travellers evoked a La Quinta or Best Western feel for $459 a night. Then to have a tiny cockroach climb past my business associates head and have a room service menu of chili con carne or something else terrible was too much. Never coming back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear travellnightmares,
I am very sorry to hear that our hotel did not live up to your expectations. I would appreciate it if you would reach out to me offline so that we might make amends, my email is tfleming@pahotel.com. It must have been very upsetting for you and your colleague and I hope that you will accept my sincerest apology Please know that I am probably as surprised as you to hear of the incident mentioned and we have addressed the matter accordingly. I am also sorry to hear that our limited overnight room service menu was not to your liking, I have shared this feedback with our Food and Beverage team for consideration. This overnight offering is intended as a convenience for our guests and we certainly want it to live up to the standard of our daytime offering.
Warmest Regards,
Tanya Fleming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Palo Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palo Alto

Address: 675 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#5 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
#6 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Palo Alto 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience California at The Westin Palo Alto hotel, adjacent to Stanford University, and within walking distance of some of the best restaurants, shops, and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Westin Palo Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palo Alto Hotel Palo Alto
Westin Palo Alto
Palo Alto Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Palo Alto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.