We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Run Hotel in the Heart of Palo Alto” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Palo Alto

Save Saved
You added The Westin Palo Alto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   675 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 24 hotels in Palo Alto
Milwaukee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Well Run Hotel in the Heart of Palo Alto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I've stayed in Westin hotels all over the world and this was one of the better Westin's I've stayed at. Here are some general comments on my stay.

Positives: - Service was very friendly and efficient. Everything I asked for was done on time and
effectively.
- Hotel is within walking distance to University avenue and the shops and restaurants in
downtown Palo Alto. Stanford University is more or less across the street. Thus the location is great for those with a stay focusing on Palo Alto.
- Rooms are clean and quite comfortable with all the needed amenities. Room had two free bottle waters which is not common for hotels in the US. I also received free Wifi as an SPG member.

Negatives: - The only one I could think of is that the hallways that lead to your room are a bit windy and confusing. This is nothing that the Westin can control at this point and wasn't a major issue.

Overall I had a great stay and would highly recommend this hotel for those staying in the Silicon Valley area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    210
    134
    51
    14
    9
See reviews for
73
69
49
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Located right across the street from Stanford campus and close proximity to downtown Palo Alto. Great staff at front desk (Junious always welcomes me back by name) , restaurant and bar (Marilyn is the best!). Large, comfortable rooms, cozy sitting areas in lobby, and great breakfast buffet. I stay here four to five times a year and always have an exceptional stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Spent a night here for a birthday celebration. This was a nice room. I was fortunate enough to stay in a room with the fireplace and jetted tub. Its a nice sized room with a loveseat in front of the fireplace and flat screen tv. The bathroom was pretty large, with the shower and toilet in one room and the vanity and jet tub in the other part. Shower had double dual head showers. This was a very nice hotel that I'd definitely stay at again. It was on the pricey side for us, but a nice stay and worth it.

Room Tip: "Away from an elevator" is a good walk from the elevators. Fireplace rooms are on 1 and 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Pros:

- Oversized room in great condition with all the very best of comfy Westin trappings
- Beautiful large bathroom
- Friendly, well trained staff (GREAT lobby bartender and front desk clerks)
- Easily accessible, reasonably priced self parking
- Prime location in Palo Alto near Stanford and the downtown area
- Homey, elegant feel to the entire property

Cons:

- Room service food quality (particularly dinner) is downright awful
- Hallway and neighboring room noise was excessive, even with minimal occupancy
- Long walk through the windy hallway to the room proved mildly cumbersome at times
- Ancillary costs for bottled water, food, beverages, and service fees border on unreasonable

Summary:

This hotel is well managed. The base room rates seem fair and reasonable. Definitely stay here, but eat elsewhere -- the property is in need of major improvements to the room service food offerings.

Room Tip: Rooms away from El Camino Real are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I was in Palo Alto recently for a visit to the Stanford campus. My husband made reservations at the Westin Palo Alto, and it was a great choice. The Westin is located right across the street from campus. Stanford is a large campus of about 1700 acres. Getting around could be difficult, but the Westin is just across the street. The Westin is located very close to the downtown Palo Alto shopping and restaurant scene, and just a couple of blocks from the Palo Alto Transit Center where a person can get the CALTRAIN to San Francisco or the lower peninsula, as well as several buses which service San Mateo and Santa Clara Counties. Marguerite, the Stanford shuttle, also stops at the Palo Alto Transit Center. So, the hotel's location is a real plus. The hotel itself was pleasant and offers food. The breakfast buffet was basic, not imaginative, and not particuarly good. That is really my only low point. The rooms were pleasant and services were very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

When I travel to the penisula to visit family, I stay at the Westin. The hotel is lovely and the staff are warm, welcoming, caring, and knowledgeable folks. Not only are the room accommodations superior, but the hotel ammenities are the ones I need: fitness center, secure parking, and business center. I regularly enjoy the morning coffee/tea service in the lobby and occasionally take advantage of the lounge, restaurant, and gift shop. In addition, the Westin Palo Alto is conveniently located and within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. Certainly, the hotel fulfills all my travel needs and I don't stay anywhere else when in Palo Alto.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My first time at this hotel, but business at Stanford and the proximity of this hotel to the campus were a plus. Some earlier reviews were uneven, but it appears to me that the hotel has been freshly renovated inside. Parking is a tad claustrophobic if you miss the turn off El Camino, but a friendly staff checked me in. The hallways are a little maze-like as this hotel is in "wings" laid out over gardens, but once you figure it out it's fine. My room was quiet, comfortable, well decorated, very nice bathroom, comfortable desk chair. Dinner at Soleil was satisfying and quiet. A good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Palo Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palo Alto

Address: 675 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#3 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
#6 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Palo Alto 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience California at The Westin Palo Alto hotel, adjacent to Stanford University, and within walking distance of some of the best restaurants, shops, and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Westin Palo Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palo Alto Hotel Palo Alto
Westin Palo Alto
Palo Alto Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Palo Alto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.