We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Palo Alto

Save Saved
You added The Westin Palo Alto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   675 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 24 hotels in Palo Alto
Newark, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

This was my second stay at this hotel. It is by far the finest Westin hotel in my experience. It is perfect in nearly every regard except for two minor points. Finding a room with an electrical outlet by the nightstands was a challenge and had to be rigged with an extension cord. Second, I could not use mirroring off my iPad to the flat panel TV.

Otherwise, the in-room refrigerator, coffee maker, great linens, towels and amenities were terrific. It's very pricey, but it's Palo Alto, CA. The service makes up for it. I was impressed that the pool was comfortably heated at the end of November.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    135
    50
    14
    9
See reviews for
73
67
49
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel manager and staff are very nice, however the food and room quality leave a lot to be desired. We arrived late on Friday and hadn't eaten. The hotel restaurant ws open for about 20 minutes, so we stopped in to grab a bite. The food was horrible. It was late, so we had to order off of a small menu. My husband had a burger and I had fondue. The food had obviously been sitting around for hours - fries were mushy, burger was overcooked, fondue was lumpy. When we got back to our room, we noticed that the bed was soft and lumpy. We were too tired to move, so we stayed. Both of us had back aches in the morning. We requested to be moved, which we were to another room. The bed was fine there. The shower was a very small stall, and one of the shower heads didn't work. The housekeeping staff didn't leave us with water and neglected to stock shampoo & conditioner.

Normally, one of these things is tolerable, but altogether it indicates to me that the hotel isn't being maintained. If you decide to stay, make sure you request a room with a newer bed and one that doesn't face the road - it was very noisy in the morning.

The hotel manager did take the bad meal off of our bill, so kudos to her for doing the right thing.

Room Tip: Request a room that doesn't face the road and has a newer bed. also ask if there are any bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear MexicoInFebruary,
Thank you for your feedback via Trip Advisor. I am very sorry to hear that we failed to live up to expecations during this visit, it must have been most disappointing. Please know that this is not at all the norm for our hotel and we will do all that we can to remedy the situation so that subsequent guests don't experience the same. I am pleased that your food charge was removed from your bill. I would really appreciate it if you would reach out to me with your name so that I can identify which room has the lumpy mattress and further make amends. Thank you again for the feedback as it can only help us to improve.
Warmest Regards,
Tanya Fleming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I just noticed I got wrongly charge $40 on my credit card. Funnily, the only reason I noticed this is because this week I stayed in ANOTHER Westin and noticed again a wrong charge of $70. Both charges are dropped after I complained about the second charge through email. But this is very disturbing. Do I need to verify online my credit card charges every time? And I don't know if I should blame Westin Palo Alto or Westin in general, since it happened twice in my two stays in two different locations.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear LujunFang,
Thank you for your review of the Westin Palo Alto. I am very sorry to hear of this and wanted to let you know that we take it very seriously. I am following up with the members of my team to ensure that there are no opportunities for error in this regard. Thank you for calling this incident to our attention.
We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Warmest Regards,
Tanya Fleming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed at the Westin Palo Alto recently for a wedding. There is nothing outstanding about the Westin, but there's nothing negative either. It's in a great location. The rooms are great. The service was great. The bed was comfortable and I enjoyed a wonderful restful sleep. The gym is adequate for a hotel. The pool looked great, but I didn't have time to make it out there.

I definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We were here on business & used limited facilities, so can only tell you about that. The bedrooms were very spacious and do too was the bathroom. I returned to my room after the first night and house keeping had not visited my room, so I requested they did. Breakfast was superb and there was plenty of choice from th buffet to a la carte. Service was good. The bar closes at 23.45 so don't stay here if you want a late drink.

The hotel was well located for Silicon Valley and the Stanford Mall and, of course the Uni. Certainly would return.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Park the car and leave it. The Westin is conveniently located with walking distance of Stanford University (across the street) University Ave. shops and restaurants, Stanford Mall (Macy's, Bloomingdales, Microsoft and Apple stores etc.), Town & Country shopping center (more shops and restaurants) and Cal Train. We used SPG points and enjoyed their pool, cozy bar, and great location to visit our son and his wife.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stay here annually when I travel for work, and this place never lets me down. The front desk staff are the best and the most helpful. The valet parking attendants are the friendliest and most professional. The rooms are so very nice and spacious, clean and so relaxing. I cannot think of anything bad to say about this hotel at all!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Palo Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palo Alto

Address: 675 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#6 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Palo Alto 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience California at The Westin Palo Alto hotel, adjacent to Stanford University, and within walking distance of some of the best restaurants, shops, and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Westin Palo Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palo Alto Hotel Palo Alto
Westin Palo Alto
Palo Alto Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Palo Alto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.