We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay the way it should be.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Palo Alto

Save Saved
You added The Westin Palo Alto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   675 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 24 hotels in Palo Alto
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great stay the way it should be.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed at the Westin Palo Alto recently for a wedding. There is nothing outstanding about the Westin, but there's nothing negative either. It's in a great location. The rooms are great. The service was great. The bed was comfortable and I enjoyed a wonderful restful sleep. The gym is adequate for a hotel. The pool looked great, but I didn't have time to make it out there.

I definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    134
    50
    14
    9
See reviews for
73
67
49
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We were here on business & used limited facilities, so can only tell you about that. The bedrooms were very spacious and do too was the bathroom. I returned to my room after the first night and house keeping had not visited my room, so I requested they did. Breakfast was superb and there was plenty of choice from th buffet to a la carte. Service was good. The bar closes at 23.45 so don't stay here if you want a late drink.

The hotel was well located for Silicon Valley and the Stanford Mall and, of course the Uni. Certainly would return.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Park the car and leave it. The Westin is conveniently located with walking distance of Stanford University (across the street) University Ave. shops and restaurants, Stanford Mall (Macy's, Bloomingdales, Microsoft and Apple stores etc.), Town & Country shopping center (more shops and restaurants) and Cal Train. We used SPG points and enjoyed their pool, cozy bar, and great location to visit our son and his wife.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stay here annually when I travel for work, and this place never lets me down. The front desk staff are the best and the most helpful. The valet parking attendants are the friendliest and most professional. The rooms are so very nice and spacious, clean and so relaxing. I cannot think of anything bad to say about this hotel at all!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

A great place to stay for Standford Football. Our upgraded room was large and comfortable. Saturday we walked a few blocks over to the Stanford game. Sunday we had wonderful brunch, complete with chocolate fountain. We will do it again next year!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Westin Palo Alto is a very nice hotel - rooms, amenities and location are quite good. But it's really annoying 1) to be charged for internet access and 2) then to be double charged - twice. I am still trying to get the extra charge removed from my bill a week later.

Room Tip: This hotel has a lot of very long hallways. If you want to be close to the elevator, make sure to as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Last Saturday my family and I attended the Stanford vs. Washington State football game and decided to book a night at the Westin Palo Alto for the night. The Stanford stadium is a short walk away from the hotel and very convenient. After a great football game, we walked back to the hotel for our relaxing night's stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was outstanding! Plenty of room for our family of 5. The beds were amazingly comfy. Our balcony/patio from our 5th floor room had a great view. We ordered room service and the food arrived quickly and was delicious. We went for a swim in their very nice pool as well. All in all a great stay and I will stay there again the next time we go to a Stanford football game.

Room Tip: Go for the 5th floor if you want nice views of the South Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Chris101264,
Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We're pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, our hotel, your room and the proximity to the Stanford stadium. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again this Season or next.
All the best,
Tanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Palo Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palo Alto

Address: 675 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#6 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Palo Alto 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience California at The Westin Palo Alto hotel, adjacent to Stanford University, and within walking distance of some of the best restaurants, shops, and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Palo Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palo Alto Hotel Palo Alto
Westin Palo Alto
Palo Alto Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Palo Alto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.