We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Rotisserie Chicken & Breads” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mayfield Bakery & Cafe

Mayfield Bakery & Cafe
855 El Camino Real, Ste. 110, Palo Alto, CA 94301
650-853-9200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mayfield Bakery & Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 313 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American, Bakery, Contemporary, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Embarcadero Road
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Basic Rotisserie Chicken & Breads”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I pick up bread from the bakery once every week or two. They only have baguettes on certain days, and if you get there after 12 noon, they are mostly sold out!

As for the restaurant, I'm not a fan. It's overpriced rotisserie chicken, which I can make at home. So their menu doesn't excite me. I suppose if you don't cook it would be a pleasure, and they do have family meals to go if you call ahead.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    38
    17
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great Dinners - Three Times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I have been to the Mayfield Cafe (not to be confused with the Bakery next door) three times, and have not been disappointed on any visit. Located in the busy Palo Alto Town & Country shopping center, parking can sometimes be a challenge. One may need to park around the corner in the center and walk a little, but that is not a problem considering the wonderful food served here. As this is not a large restaurant, reservations at prime time are necessary to avoid a wait.

The menu is small, but expertly prepared with only the best ingredients. There is only one nightly special, which one of us has ended up ordering each time we went there, and at no time were we disappointed. My husband ordered the ribs on Rib Night – and said that they were the best that he had had in a restaurant in years. My favorite dish is the Roast Chicken that is on the standard menu. It is slightly smoky and the skin is extra crisp, and the chicken jus is absolutely the best I have ever had. I use their absolutely fantastic homemade sourdough bread to sop up every bit. This is a marvelous restaurant, one that I will continue to enjoy as often as possible.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Would not go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had a mid-week late breakfast at the Mayfield Cafe. Granted we ordered the Camino Breakfast which is 2 eggs, cottage potatoes, toast, & ham or bacon - not the most creative item. However, the bacon was quite thick, tough, and mostly fat. I asked for bread (not toast) because I had heard their breads are great. I received bread, but it could have been sliced wheat bread from a grocery store - not at all exceptional or interesting. After you order, you are brought a plate of four madelines. We tasted one, and it was okay but not at all what we want at breakfast; I really wish they had served something more along the lines of a biscuit or scone. The cost for two breakfasts and one cup of coffee was $31.50 before tip & tax - expensive for what it was (thank goodness we had an OpenTable $20 coupon).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delicious and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Tasty food and easy location. Not much inside seating so keep that in mind if it's raining you may be eating in your
Your car. Bakery items wonderful, but bfast sandwiches were reheated from earlier in the day. Coffee was terrific. Why must this review be so long???

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Break out of the Breakfast Rut!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

In Palo Alto, Joanie's is always a favorite for breakfast, but I wanted to try something new and took a friend from out of town to Mayfield yesterday. I had been to the restaurant for dinner and it always feel a wee bit too dark, although the food is usually good. In the morning the restaurant has a much cheerier feeling with sun streaming in the windows. This is not a huge menu with every option of omelette and pancake. It is a well chosen menu with pancakes, brioche French toast, a French omelette, a scrambled egg dish, oatmeal, and a few other options. You can also order a la carte. They source their food from local suppliers which are listed on the menu. The bacon is especially good. The wait staff was prompt but unobtrusive, letting my friend and I catch up over several coffee/tea refills. This is a lovely, sophisticated spot for breakfast or brunch. Kids can probably make do with the pancakes or by ordering breakfast pastries. I went on a weekday and there were no kids about. I'm sure there are on weekends and there is some outdoor seating which is nice for families or parties with dogs. Be aware that the high school directly across the street starts at 8:15 so you might want to time your visit carefully if you go during the week, as the traffic is crazy making from 7:45-8:15 with kids arriving.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayfield Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Mayfield Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayfield Bakery & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.